1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Starcraft on Android?


Last Updated:

  1. D3s7iny

    D3s7iny Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Title basically says it all.. It would be amazing to see games that are playable by a windows 95 computer move onto the android.. Someone should do this
     

    Advertisement
  2. sylo88

    sylo88 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd deff get it. :) Great Idea. I bet the Android could run it.
     
  3. Phaze151

    Phaze151 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    that would be badass IMO.. think about it..the phone has a processor comparable to computers of the early 2000's
     
  4. ram100987

    ram100987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    sounds awesome! having a touchscreen should make it even easier to play than the pc version. problem is whether blizzard will do it, unless a developer can make a carbon copy for us :)
     
  5. noderat

    noderat Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Only issue is that it's java based, without a major OS hack it wont be possible to run anything that isn't written in Java. An x86 emulator would be slow as dirt on current mobile hardware.
     
  6. Durf

    Durf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    3
    True but just the thought of SC on my G1 is awesome!
     
  7. D3s7iny

    D3s7iny Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump... With the release of Neocore, the benchmarking game/app, Starcraft has to be possible it doesnt even use true 3d graphics and neocore does

    So please! Any developers make starcraft lol
     
  8. happyface_0

    happyface_0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw starcraft being run on a TI-89 graphing calculator. This is more than possible on android.
     
  9. HTC

    HTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    7
    what??
     
  10. happyface_0

    happyface_0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. Patton

    Patton Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Phases

    Phases Community Manager Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    8,499
    Likes Received:
    18,874
    I used to play the hell outa' some startcraft. I miss those days.
     
  13. HTC

    HTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    7
  14. devin

    devin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Starcraft on Android would be... amazing :p
     
  15. pillow43

    pillow43 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    - -! didn't think that someone would came up with the idea of running the game on a calculator
     
  16. androidtapp

    androidtapp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. jabtas

    jabtas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    20
    Starcraft would be cool, but how about I throw another title into the mix



    ELITE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    [​IMG]


    The original could run a BBC micro, imagine it would be easily possible on the G1
     
  18. 1Real McCoy

    1Real McCoy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah that would be awesome!maybe in the future? i wouldnt mind paying for that feature on my g1 =)
     
  19. tookule4skool

    tookule4skool Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would be interesting but hard as hell to play on such a small screen especially without a stylus
     
  20. HotHeart

    HotHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'am developing for two months on Starcraft on Android.
    I'm have an a blog, but it is in russian, but sometimes i whrite here about this project.

    What is developed now:
    1) Loading a map, fast rendering of it, but i want to improve it to get more speed.
    2) Loading all units, images, sprites. Simple controlling - walking, attacking(!).
    3) Sound

    Project seems to be open source, but i doesn't decided finaly about it.

    Blog:
    http://stepa.name
     
  21. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    HotHeart

    Are you writing this from scratch, or have you porting source code from another project? If you are porting source code that already has a license you might have to use the same license (GPL for example)
     
  22. HotHeart

    HotHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm writing this from scratch.
    Don't worry. I agree licenses. For example another my project is DroidGear. It is OpenSource
     
  23. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    Nice start on that btw, I love emulators
     
  24. HotHeart

    HotHeart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49

    I'm a developer but not an Android developer, but what I would do is use the Date() object to get a millisecond count before and after critical routines (for example every blit to the screen, calls to the sound engine, emulation code). This way you can see what the slowest functions are, then when you know this you can do the same thing inside these functions to find out the slowest code.

    If you do that, you will know what code needs optimization

    Hope this helps
     

Share This Page

Loading...