status bar freezing (can't swipe down)Support


Last Updated:

  1. djd099

    djd099 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just got a Virgin Mobile Intercept last week. It was working fine for a few days but now I can't swipe down to access the pull down menu from the status bar. I used Advanced Task Killer but that didn't help. It works on restart, but the restart takes a long time and I have to do it several times a day.

    Has this happened to anyone else? Is there anything else I can try to fix this?

    I want to root eventually but want to wait for a stable way to do so for the intercept.
     

    Advertisement
  2. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    The notification bar freezes up? Did it work OK when you initally used the phone? Could it be an app you installed? You could try uninstalling your installed apps one at a time, or do a hard reset (menu>settings>privacy>factory data reset) and wipe the phone clean.
     
    djd099 likes this.
  3. djd099

    djd099 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I installed a lot of apps, and one of them probably caused it. But I happened to install Launcher Pro right after I made this post, and that seems to have solved the problem. I haven't had the problem since then and I've been using the phone heavily.

    The interface is a lot faster all around. It was laggy in general (in addition to the status bar freezing) but now it's fine.
     
  4. FaroeseViking

    FaroeseViking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Me too. I got the phone the Tuesday it was put out, and had this problem the next day, with hardly any apps loaded. Its a glitch. Call up VM and just let them know, as I did, I would imagine they can help Sammy push out a fix for this bug. The CR said he hadn't heard of this complaint, so he thought it was maybe just this mobile, but as I can see here, it's not unique. Sometimes mine un-freezes for a few hours, then freezes again. Can't pinpoint a rhyme-or-reason for it. Let's hope we get a fix soon, or just gets upgraded to Froyo!
     
  5. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I'm a big fan of LauncherPro! If you use it, don't forget to buy it. Even if you don't use the added features and I don't, the developers deserves a little $$$ for the work he does. $3 is nothing when you consider how slick the program is and how often it's updated and improved.
     
  6. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I wonder if Virgin Mobile changed the default launcher in some way? Since another user already had success, give launcher pro a try. IMHO, even the free version blows the default launcher out of the water in both speed and utility. If it doesn't work for you, you can easily change back. Nothing to lose!
     
  7. codyleestarr

    codyleestarr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    the way to fix this is once you are on your home screen hold the home button and you will see you apps u lasted used then hit the back key this seems to unfreeze the bar
     
    bluecoy and new2udroid like this.
  8. FaroeseViking

    FaroeseViking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Without doing anything, mine has stopped having this problem it seems. I wonder if google/VM pushed out a minor upodate without telling us. Anyways, its great that it works like it's suppose to.
     
  9. pastafarian

    pastafarian Pâtes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    I've never heard of a silent update and I doubt there will ever be one. BTW, VM? Voice mail? Virtual machine?
     
  10. FaroeseViking

    FaroeseViking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Virgin Mobile
     
  11. tonytone

    tonytone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    mine does it too, before i installed any apps. used various window managers and none of them seem to fix the issue (launcher pro, adw). i just restart the phone.
     
  12. glockjs

    glockjs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    23
    mine started doing this the other day after working fine for a few weeks...its off and on. must be a glitch with VM phones
     
  13. raisen

    raisen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the same problem. What works for me: hold the home button until you see the list of recent apps. Press the back key. Now the status bar should work again.
     
    bluecoy and DMGO like this.
  14. stuartredman1

    stuartredman1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    This Works
     
    new2udroid likes this.
  15. new2udroid

    new2udroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really appreciate the help. I immediately tried what. U sggested about holding down home key on home page then hitting back and it worked! Awesome dude
     
  16. latinmaxima

    latinmaxima Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    111
    That and restarts were common with 2.1. If in fact VM releases 2.2 for you guys you will be happy. I also like Launcher Pro. My wife uses it and it has great features. Even she paid for her version cause she liked it so much and she is really "frugal".
     
  17. DMGO

    DMGO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4


    Thanks! That took care of it for me, too.
     
  18. AndroidInNY

    AndroidInNY New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks for the home + back trick. That had been annoying the hell out of me since I got the phone last month. It has happened several times.
     
  19. no3rdseat

    no3rdseat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so much for the Home and Back trick!! I've been on tech support with Samsung several times and all they know to tell me is remove my battery or to do a hard reset. I did this and lost all of my paid apps (except Launcher Pro Plus because they send you an install code via e-mail!!). Can't wait for the 2.2 update on these things. Thanks for the great Notification Bar reset!!
     
  20. iahuerta

    iahuerta New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The whole swipe down issue usually arrives from this:

    Whenenver you hold the red END button, (usually by accident) you get a small prompt to either power off your phone, airplane mode..etc. if you press back, to leave the phone ON, the top swipe down bar will stop working.

    Maybe Samsung, Google and Virgin Mobile are just all unaware of the small glitch????
     

Share This Page

Loading...