Still having terrible WiFi range after update


Last Updated:

  1. Raadius

    Raadius Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    So a week ago I updated my Evo, it was suppose to fix the battery, HTC sync and WiFi range. Well, my battery is slightly better, still terrible IMO and my WiFi range is UNCHANGED.

    I'm in my room, next to my modem, full bars. If I turn my back to the modem it drops to 2 bars. If I walk out of my room, down the hall way into the living room, it struggles to hold 1 bar, sometimes leaving with zero bars. Whats going on? From my room to the living room is less than 15 feet away. My HD2 and iPhone 2G still holds 3 full bars.
     

    Advertisement
  2. htcevolee

    htcevolee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    56
    Dont always trust bars. The real test is doing a actual speed test. Do it when you get full bars facing it. Do it with your back to it. Do it on the other side of the house. Then post your results.
     
  3. XxMerlinxX

    XxMerlinxX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    ^ +1. It doesn't matter how many bars it says you're getting as long as your connection speeds are still good.
     
  4. The_Omega_Man

    The_Omega_Man Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    DL WiFi Analyzer
     
  5. Dvd

    Dvd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an updated 002 EVO. My wife just brought home her new T-mobile work phone. It's the HTC Touch (3G Slide)....

    Doing a side by side comparison using Wi-Fi analyzer on our back deck, about 50 feet from the router:

    I get -88dBm signal (Channel 3) from our router.
    My wife gets -70dBm signal from our router.

    18 dBM more signal!!! WTF?

    She is also receiving three other SSID's from the neighbors. (2 are on channel 6, and one is channel 9) I can receive NONE of them until I walk about 40 feet towards the other houses....

    Sigh.... :( What gives HTC? These are both your products..... Why does the entry level Touch get way better reception than the top of the line Evo????
     
  6. maw4bc

    maw4bc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    2
    i dont even use the wifi because it is so horrible. I don't care how much people on this forum defend it, you shouldnt have to tweak anything. wifi should just work. Huge annoyance for me personally.
     
  7. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    My wifi just works. At my office I use a linksys 650n router with the 2.5 ghz band set on channel 11 and mixed mode and i get strong signal on the second floor of a concrete building and in my warehouse in the back. I also use a linksys E3000 router with both the 2.5 and 5ghz running N only and I get a signal everywhere I have tried also on channel 11. I used WiFi analyzer when I was getting weaker signals and found out I was using the weakest channel at both places so I switched to the strongest and there you have it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...