stock 2.1 baseband and kernelSupport


Last Updated:

  1. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    So i had bought an X off craigslist where the guy had updated to the leaked 2.2 build. i wanted to go back to stock 2.1 and i want to confirm i was successful. i was in the infinite boot loop by the way so if anyone is there, pm me and i can help.

    anyways, here are my stats:

    System version: Version.1.13.604.MB810.Verizon.en.US
    firmware: 2.1-update1
    baseband: BP_C_01.09.04P
    Kernel: 2.6.29 w30471@il93lnxdroid08 #1
    Build number: VZW
    ERI version: 5
    PRL version: 51926

    So am i bone stock or did i mess something up?

    thanks!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Yep, those versions are right, you're good to go!
     
    andross77 likes this.
  3. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thank you SO MUCH! *breathes HUGE sigh of relief*

    So in the top task bar i still have the two arrows in a circle meanings it's syncing. Does it take that long to do the initial sync? or might something be jacked up?
     
  4. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Give it a bit, depending on the number of accounts or emails or data you have it may take a while.

    If it sits there for 24 hours, though, just do a factory reset like the one detailed here (or the one you did when you flashed the phone):

    Hard Reset Droid X

    No complications there, and no chance of bricking the device - it'll just wipe your phone and start over.
     
    andross77 likes this.
  5. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    sounds good. looks like the circles are gone. i don't have that much data (at least i thought) that's why i asked.

    One more question, since you seem to have the answers. I'm really happy with the phone stock and it will be even better when we have 2.2. The ONE thing that bugs me more than anything though, is all the bloatware. I accidentally clicked on vz navigator and then i was one click away from signing up for a useless monthly fee. It is also annoying getting the City data app to pop, the blockbuster app to run, etc.

    I know i need root to rename the "apk's" to "bak's" but my question is: Can i root, SOLELY to rename and hide the garbage VZW apps? I don't want to overclock, i don't want to theme, i don't want to lower the voltage, i don't want to mess with the phone in any other way.

    So can i root and just rename (hide) those apps without it affecting my phone in anyway? Will the only thing it do is block me from receiving OTA's? So if the only other update the droid x gets is 3.0 then i will have to unroot again to get that right?

    I may just stay stock because of this recent scare almost bricking the phone, but i really, really, really hate the bloatware they put on. There was a couple things on the original droid i had but not near as many as on the X.

    Thanks!
     
  6. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    The ONLY thing that root does is provide the ability to allow applications to use superuser privileges. That's it. It doesn't do anything by itself.

    So, yep. I'm rooted and I think the only thing I did was remove bloatware. Oh, and used Titanium Backup to back some stuff up.

    Also, I doubt that rooting will prevent the OTA upgrade. What may prevent the OTA upgrade is renaming those apps - so when you're notified of the upgrade, just rename them back, reboot, and upgrade. When you get upgraded, you'll probably lose root.
     
    andross77 likes this.
  7. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Oh, and it's really, really, REALLY hard to brick the phone. The bootloader is going to stay intact no matter what you do to it and you can always flash the SBF from the bootloader. So don't stress too much.
     
    andross77 likes this.
  8. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks dude. I really think i will root to get rid of the bloatware then since it's so annoying. if it was just an app or two i wouldn't bother. thanks again.
     
  9. maroonsloth

    maroonsloth Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you are using LauncherPro, you have the option to hide apps from the app menu without having to root.
     
  10. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    EXCELLENT! Not ideal but it will do. I had heard with Pandahome you could hide them as well but i wasn't that big of a fan of it. everyone raves about Launcherpro so i'm giving it a shot. not having to root is a plus. if i like this launcher better than stock maybe i'll never have to root and i can just get 2.2 and be on my merry way :)

    thanks!
     
  11. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    BTW, hiding them only does just that: stops their icon from appearing in the app drawer. It does not stop their services from running and consuming CPU cycles or memory, and will not stop the CityID popups from annoying you after 30 days.

    Launcher Pro rocks, though.
     
  12. andross77

    andross77 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    14
    oh, well that's a wet blanket to the face. ahh well. i'll keep checking the running applications and see how often they pop up. city id is SUPER annoying....

    So renaming an app from "apk" to "bak" not only hides it but also makes it inoperable so that it can't run any of it's processes then right?
     
  13. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Yep. You don't even need to rename it to .bak. I just took the "k" off the end of all mine so they're <filename>.ap.

    It's like changing a file extension from .exe to something unrecognizable in Windows - the file will no longer launch.
     

Share This Page

Loading...