Stock Alarm clock snooze


Last Updated:

  1. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Does anyone know if ther'es a way to make it so that sliding down on the stock alarm clock is the snooze, instead of having to press the button on the screen?

    It's starting to get annoying that I dismiss the alarm accidentally because sliding down is so much more convenient.
     

    Advertisement
  2. sir_knoxalot

    sir_knoxalot Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure about how you want to do it but I believe if you just hit the volume side button, it snoozes.
     
  3. Nanan

    Nanan Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    The stock alarmclock has much to be desired, I have been using Alarming! and have been quite happy with it thus far. I really like the ability to set a puzzle/math lock on the dismiss so I don't just turn it off in my sleep.
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    I know the stock alarm leaves quite a bit to desire, but it would be perfect for me if there was a way to change the snooze/dismiss setting.

    For example, I'd love to be able to slide down on the screen to snooze, then have to go into the clock itself to dismiss. Simple as that.
     
  5. astrobill

    astrobill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    24
    All:

    Slightly related question....

    When I use any of the snooze methods for the "built in" alarm function on my Sprint HTC Hero, the next time the alarm wakes up from snooze, it doesn't play the full alarm ringer or repeat. It only beeps briefly or for a few seconds...and the SECOND time it wakes up from snooze, it sometimes does NOTHING....just virtually wakes up with no sound. What's going on?

    I think I'm using the HTC alarm/clock widget that comes with the phone.

    - Astro
     
  6. Foolishbean69

    Foolishbean69 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so from searching the web it seems I'm the only person with this problem... When my alarm is going off, now and then, the act of getting the desire out of my pocket will do "something" which leaves the alarm ringing but removes the snooze/dismiss screen! This leaves me with a ringing phone, turning off the alarm does nothing, silent mode does nothing, only way to stop it ringing is to pull the battery out! It won't even shut down while it's ringing! Hopefully someone else has had this can point me to a work around. I know, i know, get an app and stop using stock alarm.....
     
  7. wrench

    wrench Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    43
    Yeah, the design is ******ed. I wonder if the guy who wrote the app actually uses it.
     
  8. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    Since this thread has been brought back from the grave I will share a nice piece of advice I got from someone else one this forum. With the stock alarm, if you don't want to push that little button to snooze and you you don't want to drag the screen to dismiss, just roll the track ball and it will snooze the alarm. It's easy and it works very well. :)
     
  9. sleepyEDB

    sleepyEDB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is true and works well, however I've noticed the following on more than one occasion after recently using the trackball to snooze my alarms:

    1. After two consecutive trackball-snoozes, the alarm shuts off and will not sound again.

    2. I have automatic brightness turned off and my brightness level manually set to about 20%. After I've started trackball-snoozing, my brightness will sometimes be set to 100%.

    Anyone else notice either of these?


    sleepy
     
  10. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    Hey Sleepy, I have in fact noticed that you only get 2 snoozes. I thought that was strange and couldn't figure out why. Perhaps it is because of using the trackball. I use auto brightness so I can't help you out on the second one. I'll have to experiment with the snooze thing when I'm not at work and verify for sure that it's just the trackball that stops snoozing after 2 times.
     
    sleepyEDB likes this.
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    No idea as to why only 2 snoozes, haven't experienced that one myself.

    As far as the brightness, I've had it occur on a custom ROM at random. I don't use the trackball to snooze FWIW.
     
    sleepyEDB likes this.
  12. sleepyEDB

    sleepyEDB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies. At least I know I'm not going crazier. ;P


    sleepy
     

Share This Page

Loading...