stock alarm problemsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. spupuz

    spupuz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi does anyone as problem with stock alarm problem? sometimes it does not start the alarm and i can't get up in time!!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. ZeeToo

    ZeeToo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had issues with the alarm program, not because the alarm didn't start but because the phone had shutdown.

    My phone doesn't restart like other phones seem to but every now and then it just shuts down, but I'm wondering if the issue is that your phone is restarting and not restarting the alarm..

    You could try and set the alarm to be a continuous one, or set an alarm and then shutdown and startup the phone to see if the alarm comes back afterwards. If you can make the alarm survive a shutdown / restart it hopefully would be ok.

    ZeeToo.
     
  3. spupuz

    spupuz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry but i did not undestood what you mean.

    i have 3 alarms that have to ring every morning at 7:30 8:00 and 8:30 but i can't undesrtand why they do not work always properly
     
  4. ZeeToo

    ZeeToo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a bug in the i7500 firmware somewhere that (depending on the level) tends to cause the odd random shutdown or restart in the phone.

    If the phone shuts down, you'll be able to see that obviously, but if the phone just restarts you may not notice at all.

    If your phone is restarting randomly then it may be killing the alarm when it boots up again.

    Try setting your alarms and then shutting down and starting the phone up - if the alarm is gone that might be the problem you're seeing.

    If that is the problem then there might be a setting that will keep the alarm on even after the phone has rebooted.

    ZeeToo.
     
  5. jwk

    jwk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you setup a pin lock you will soon know if your phone is suffering from the restart bug.....i think.
     
  6. ZeeToo

    ZeeToo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, you're right - I should have thought of that thanks :D
     
  7. mrbrdo

    mrbrdo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem (shut downs). H7 firmware. This sucks big time - worst bug ever.
     
  8. jwk

    jwk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    interesting. i had G6 and random restarts/shutdowns, but not anymore with H7.
     
  10. hippy

    hippy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
  11. ressu

    ressu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    That pretty much covers it. You need to create a directory with the name alarms on the sdcard (internal or external) and put the custom mp3s there. After that the mp3s will appear in the normal settings list.

    The location of the directory doesn't appear to matter and the files are recursed within the original directory, so all of these will work:

    media/audio/alarms/foo.mp3
    alarms/myalarmscollection/foo.mp3
    mystuff/alarms/foo.mp3

    The other notable directories appear to be ringtones and notifications. same rules apply to those.

    Also, ringdroid is your friend in putting the file to the right location and modifying it so that it is cut right.
     
  12. john_o

    john_o Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    seems obvious but in the early days with my phone , I was using TasKiller to improve battery life without the alarm on TasKillers ignore list!
    The icon stays in the notification bar but the alarm wont trigger.

    of course its fine now Ive added it as an ignore :D
    pretty dum but caught me out first time around :eek:
     
  13. hippy

    hippy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well the manual method still doesn't seem to work but I've just found that if you play an mp3 and then click the Menu button, one of the options is "Use as ringtone". Too easy! ha!

    I might still try and change the alarm sound.
     

Share This Page

Loading...