Stock Android on Froyo...It might be possible w/out root!


Last Updated:

  1. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    New Google Voice With widget (From G2) - xda-developers

    ^^ I found this today, and I was really more interested in installing the Google Voice update that isn't on the market yet. Then I saw the Launcher 2.2 and I downloaded it just to see if it would work. It is the Stock Android Launcher, and works fine only problem is...the phone button doesn't work. When I press phone it tells me that the application isn't installed.

    Does anyone have any idea how we could get this working. I don't really have that big of a problem with sense, I'd just rather have the option.
     

    Advertisement
  2. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    Can one of the experienced developers give us some incite here...this is out of my league.
     
  3. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    go back and look at xda threads again, seems like I read of several people running it with no probs.

    I skim through a lot of threads though, so it could be they were rooted or I read it at diff site
     
  4. cooksalot

    cooksalot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    You may have to reconnect the shortcut to that icon. I had to do that once when I tried Skyraider. Go to XDA and do a search. Because I don't remember how I did it. Sorry about that. :(
     
  5. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    Wow the title of this is stock android w/out root and its categorized in "all things root"

    Anyways, I've been playing with it. I have the phone.apk from stock android. I just can't install it because it has the same file name (dialer) and version number (2.2) as the HTC Dialer. Since I'm not rooted, I can't extract it into a file com.android.phone and put it in the sys/app file. So I'm trying to find a work around.
     
  6. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    The people that were running it were non-sense (no pun intended)
     
  7. Muerte_X

    Muerte_X Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    11
    If you want a different launcher, try launcher pro or ADW launcher
     
  8. JuicyJones

    JuicyJones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    36
    I'm using ADW on and off but I'd like to see how stock runs on here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...