Stock browser open/close issue with 2.1 ?General


Last Updated:

  1. Eric2

    Eric2 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've been noticing an odd problem, and wondered if other have noticed the same thing.

    Sometimes, after the phone has been in sleep mode for awhile, when I hit the power button to wake it back up and then the menu button (or swipe) to open the screen, I get that circular bar pattern followed by what look like the browser trying to launch. The screen is white, with a white address bar area, too. Then that screen goes back to the circular bar pattern, followed by the white browser screen again, after which it just closes. Very odd. Doesn't do it all the time. Seems to be random.

    And after a hard reset, sometimes the first time or two I use the browser, it just force closes on me. Again, doesn't do it all the time. (At first I thought I accidentally hit the home button, or something, but I didn't.)

    Anyone experience these issues?

    Maybe the new update will fix it, along with the silent bug, etc.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ive experienced the stock browser randomly closing on me. Its quite frequent for me, so i actually went and installed xscope browser.
     
  3. ruffneck104

    ruffneck104 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Happens every time.
     
  4. HunterJohnson

    HunterJohnson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have noticed almost every time when I try to open the stock browser after having been using it, letting the screeen time out, then trying to reopen it will go white for about 5 sec. then close. When I reopen it takes me to the home page. This is extremely annoying if im in the middle of reading an article and get interupted for some readon.

    any work arounds? I do not like/want to use another browser.
     
  5. hlaalu

    hlaalu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    24
    Finally someone with the same issue as me! If I don't use my phone for a few hours, the problem happens. Then when I go in the second time it brings me back to a specific web page that was loaded way in the past. very weird, I can't figure it out yet.
     
  6. KennyJive

    KennyJive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Go to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > find the Internet/Browser and clear the cache. You have to do it every once and a while because it'll accumulate pretty fast.
     

Share This Page

Loading...