Stock browser scrolling slower after FroyoSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Satur9ine

    Satur9ine Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    It seems like the stock browser scrolling is sluggish and less responsive after installing Froyo. Anyone else experiencing this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. sean76

    sean76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    779
    Well your probably not using the official build thats going out on the 3rd.
     
  3. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    Mine is slow too. Back to Dolphin, much faster.
     
  4. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    So you are saying that the one going out on the 3rd will be better then what is out now? Do you have proof that the version on the 3rd will fix the issue that the OP has mentioned?
     
  5. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
    That's just rubbish.
     
  6. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162
    Definitely rubbish.

    People actually think that in 3 days some magically delicious completely different update its going to come out with every aspect changed.
     
  7. ThatNewAndroidGuy

    ThatNewAndroidGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    103
    Just because there was some version laying around and someone somehow got/knew about the link, doesn't mean that its the final version. Not everything has to be hosted from ONE LINK. For all we know there could be multiple builds laying around on the htc domain, sub domains, etc.

    It's the same thing with people updating websites to have a new user experience or layout. They have the original layout, then they have a link for the new layout. Same domain, just under a diff sub domain, or a different homepage in a sub-directory. Geez people like you are really making a big deal about this. Even HTC said it wasn't the final build. Believing them or not, I'd rather believe them vs people like you posting their opinion in a forum. And besides, not MANY aspects need to be changed, its only a few minor things that need worked out, IF THAT was the final version anyways.
     
  8. cpaek72

    cpaek72 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to break it to you guys but flash is slowing down the browser. Froyo with flash is not ready.
     
  9. VGPOP

    VGPOP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    64
    Cool story.
     
  10. hamzax7x

    hamzax7x Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Definitely noticed this, all over. The typing AND scrolling is slower, if the page has heavy flash elements, its EVEN slower
     
  11. Droidone

    Droidone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    118
    Do menu, settings, scroll to plugins and change it to on demand and your problem is fixed. Your flash will load when you click or touch the flash content. Also your pages will load even faster. Good luck and hit the button if I've helped.
     
    RickJ, Satur9ine, archercc and 6 others like this.
  12. jimh1999

    jimh1999 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Much better, I was starting to worry about the browser, Thank you for posting this...
     
  13. bama78792000

    bama78792000 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    A thank you sir
     
  14. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
    See, if Sprint didn't have the exact same build number on their website as the release build, then I could possibly be convinced that the build we all have right now is actually 4 weeks old, and there was a newer build coming. But that's not the case. This is the build Sprint says we'll get, we just have it now.

    And like I said before, if it's not the final build somehow, SO WHAT! It's no big deal, we'll just update to that when it's fully released and continue on with living the good FroYo life.

    As for this build being updated, unless there's a major show stopping bug in this build (ie, it's easy for stupids to brick their phones using it), then this is what's going to be used. Minor bugs won't cause an entire OS update to be scapped, not after the amount of QA work that went in to it. No, for minor bugs HTC/Sprint will just create an additional update that lays over the top of this one. That way they only have to QA the update, not re-QA the entire 2.2 release over again which could easily take several days.
     
  15. mynamewastaken

    mynamewastaken Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    81
    Sorry to break it to you, but flash works great for me and most everyone else. Nexus 1 users have had flash in their browser since May, this is not a new thing, there aren't any massive show stopping bugs. So, sorry to break it to you again, but this is one more thing your iPhone doesn't have either (yeah I said it.)
     
    heavychevy and sean76 like this.
  16. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    I'll just wait and see when the OTA has been officially released. It's hard to argue if the 2.2 update hasn't been officially distrubuted yet.
     
  17. sean76

    sean76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    779

    My Mannnn....100% on point.
     
  18. kingfroman

    kingfroman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    think he ment flash is still in beta. it works pretty good but it does slow the browser down a bit and makes scrolling a bit sluggish. thats why i keep mine disabled until i need to watch a video just enable it.
     
  19. RickJ

    RickJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    64

    Yes, that is very well possible and has been thoroughly debated several times over, in several threads. That being said, aside from being an utterly useless reply to the op's question

    it is presumptious at best and about as worthy as a first grader's 'I told you so' taunt and only serves to derail the thread.

    I can echo what some others have experienced, pages without flash are just as fast if not faster than before. Pages with signficant amounts of flash (i.e. flash videos, not gonna say which ones.... lol) were slower to load as well as respond initially however seem to have become much quicker now. Sites with normal flash banners have no sluggisness whatsoever. Free Flash animations- Free Flash animation - Cool free animations.

    Perhaps your issue isnt flash related though, hope you get it figured out.
     
  20. Evo_Pimpin

    Evo_Pimpin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks for the info.
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Let's be honest - we're long due for some kinda browser upgrade.

    Seriously.

    I've got my eye on that almost-ware called Firefox mobile.

    Meanwhile - Flash is not easy on a browser's cache or its own or however they've architected it on this go round - and on top of that the stock browser is entirely based on WebKit and the #1 desktop browser using WebKit has had a tendency to core leak for some time and has been the subject of frequent updates.

    I've tried the others, to me they're more of the same, just varying degrees - no offense to their followers, but, you know - we all shift browser loyalties as one falls behind and another advances. And why not?

    Meanwhile - you know it, I know it, we all know it - we want a browser that will pass these:

    The Acid3 Test

    On my desktop, 100/100 - stock browser now - 93/100. Totally not good enough.

    The HTML5 test - How well does your browser support HTML5?

    I'm scoring over 200 on my desktop - and have H.264 & MPEG4 support.

    I appreciate the tip for the on-demand stuff - but it's not for me just yet, I'll live with a little sluggishness and see if things change as the caching does.

    For now.

    But my read on this - and it's worth every penny you're paying for it - is that we just now got Flash and it might take just a little time to iron out any integration kinks or upgrades as the next step.

    One example - Opera has no idea what to do with the new Flash.

    OBTW, I want all of this working yesterday, cheers thanks a lot.
     
  22. sean76

    sean76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    4,460
    Likes Received:
    779

    A first graders I told you so? Listen up Mr Clown Central, I was mearly stating... wait till the official build comes out until making snap judgments on how Froyo performs. I don't really hear Nexus one owners belly aching about upgrading, and how slow there devices are after Froyo. You have countless non EVO owners in this Forum belly aching on a constant basis on how this sux, and that sux, and how this could be better. Like an episode of a soap opera with so much whining. You would understand if you weren't so busy working for the Big Apple Circus Mr know it all.
     
  23. heavychevy

    heavychevy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    162

    That would explain why my Dolphin is faster than the stock browser. I have to actually touch the area on the dolphin for the flash to work there.

    But that totally defeats the purpose of flash IMO. Except for being able to play videos on the site they are embeded on, it's useless. Who wants to click to see adds scrolling on the screen?



    Some version laying around?

    A version that happened to address EVERYTHING the update said it was going to address, and just happened to be released on HTC's site, and only a few days before release of the OTA?

    What are you smoking?



    There may be multiple builds, but if you think this is coincidence you are as naive as it gets. How sloppy would it be for HTC or Sprint to allow an update that was openly leaked days before and is not close to the final build to be out there running rampant?



    NOT ONLY THAT!!! Do you actually still believe that every issue will be fixed with apps conflicting with the new software and most of the problems being solved with a reboot or hard reset anyways not happen with a new build? Those issues are still going to happen, time to get with the program. Do you also honestly believe that a build that was leaked with all these COINCIDENCES would actually be that far from the final build where all aspects of it would have significant changes?


    Common sense............It's whats for dinner.
     
  24. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    Thank you! I couldn't find where it had moved. Soooo much faster with on demand and, unlike the eyePhone, I can choose to display flash when I want (skipping ads but enabling it for menus and video).
     
  25. archercc

    archercc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    68
    This paragraph is confusing, are you complaining about on demand defeating the purpose and then stating what make it great?
     

Share This Page

Loading...