Stock keyboard colors...General


Last Updated:

  1. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    I was curious, does anyone know if it is possible to change the colors of the stock keyboard that comes with the phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    weihl165 likes this.
  3. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks, but I wouldn't even know where to begin there. lol

    Besides, isn't this for rooted phones?
     
  4. Stupifier

    Stupifier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    46
    It is not for rooted phones. It is for everyone. It is installed very easily by following the detailed 1 step, 2 step, etc instructions.
     
  5. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    it's 1,2,3 if you can count those number, you can get er done! :)
     
  6. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks, very easy and you make them any way you want. Wish I could apply it to the swiftkey keyboard
     
  7. jes0212

    jes0212 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    3
    I cannot seem to find instructions on how to install this. I created my own and its downloaded on my phone but how do i activate it? Thanks
     
  8. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    I opened it with astro, goto settings keyboards, and select it. then just enable it in your messaging app with the text input. Hope this helps
     
  9. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    astro is my way as well..
     
  10. Stupifier

    Stupifier Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ya, use astro to install the apk. Make sure you check your settings to allow apk installs from sources other than Market.
     
  11. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    So did you get it figured out?
     
  12. matab14

    matab14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay so I got it downloaded, used astro, enabled the settings but can not find where to activate it in handcent.....any ideas?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  13. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ok when you open up handcent, go like your gonna text someone, long press in the typing box, a box will pop up and as edit text, click on input method, another box will open up and you should see the keyboards you have, mine is touch inout, swiftkey, and HTC_IME mod. This is the keyboard you made click on that. Once you get back into your text it should be the keyboard you made
     
  14. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    How do you know what version you have? Or what version do you want or should pick? For a unrooted phone is that helps any.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    I did the froyo27 high res. non root
     
  16. matab14

    matab14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    worked awesome! Thanks!
     
  17. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    sweet your welcome
     
  18. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah, I went ahead with that. However, when I got it into my phone, and then used astro to install it and went into keyboard settings and changed it, and then long pressed in the text message in put box and changed the keyboard there, a error pop up. I don't remember the error, but I'll give it another shot and see what happens.
     
  19. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    hmm I didnt get any errors, did it work after a reinstall?
     
  20. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
  21. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hmm I got that message when I tried going into the calibration tool.
    Are talking about in your language&keyboards settings? If so then just select the htc_ime keyboard.
     
  22. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    Not sure what the calibration tool is on the phone, but I went into the Language and keyboards settings and checked htc_mod, because that is all I have for a option.
     
  23. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    ok then wehn you open your messaging app, hold in the typing box and a box will pop up, hit input method, then htc_ime mod. This is the keyboard you made.
     
  24. Shorte85

    Shorte85 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yes, and that is when I got that error message above that I posted. lol
     
  25. weihl165

    weihl165 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    14
    lol oh ok sorry. I would try to unistall and reinstall. Anyone else?
     

Share This Page

Loading...