Stock lock screen.


Did this work for you?

  1. Yes, Im loving my stock lockscreen.

    2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  2. No, Im still stuck with the TW puzzle

    1 vote(s)
    33.3%

Last Updated:

  1. ChanceM

    ChanceM Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    So don't know if anyone else here knows about this but I was over at the XDA forums and found my way to this link:
    [Mod] Stock android lockscreen *now with no menu unlock option* - xda-developers

    There is a file that you replace in your \system\framework directory and reboot and then your captivate will have the stock android 2.1 slider lockscreen.

    All I did was copy over the file to my SD card and using adb shell copied it in. I would recommend copying the original first!

    Here are the commands I used.
    Note: I have a folder on my SD card called sideload so change it to where ever you put the file.
    adb shell
    su
    cp /system/framework/android.policy.odex /sdcard/sideload/android.policy.odex.ORIG
    cp /sdcard/sideload/android.policy.odex /system/framework
    reboot

    I have included a screenshot bellow so you can see what it looks like. Its a better solution than lock bot as it is native and there is 0 delay when unlocking or putting your phone on silent.

    Good luck if you have questions just ask below!
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    can i do this on a mac? is adb on mac? sorry for the noob question
     
  3. ChanceM

    ChanceM Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes as long as it's an Intel mac you can install the Android SDK or I guess I could have mentioned that if you download terminal emulator on to your phone you could do it there as well. PS you do need root.
     
  4. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh really? i can do it from my captivate if i dl terminal from the market? i am actually rooted. well i dl teh android sdk but dont know how to use it or install it lol. im on a macbook. i would love to have the stock android lockscreen cuz i hate the stock on the captivate! im trying to get the vibrant hybrid rom working cuz that i believe has the stock android lockscreen
     
  5. ChanceM

    ChanceM Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    All you need is to get to the adb inside of the tools folder from the SDK. IDK about on the mac but I just open a CMD prompt in the tools folder and then use the adb command. I would assume its the same just using terminal on the mac. But yes the terminal emulator on the market will let you do the same thing.

    Yeah this + launcher pro is the best! No more pesky TW.
     
  6. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    yup! im on launcher pro and this would be the best!!will give this a go and hope this works!!
     
  7. ChefNsm

    ChefNsm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you get txts or missed calls does it have a slider show up to unlock straight to the txt or missed calls you get?
     
  8. ChanceM

    ChanceM Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know I use smspopup so it just opens to a popup of the message that I can respond to without using the text app. And I have yet to miss a call I will try to let you know when it happens.

    Update: Okay I used Google voice to call myself. It just shows the missed call in the status bar. No additional sliders appeared.
     
    ChefNsm likes this.
  9. toawkanavngthded

    toawkanavngthded Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    can u kinda help me on installing this?? lol im new to android. i just installed a custom rom but have no idea how to install this. i dl android sdk but dont know where to go from here... a little help? thanks in advance!
     
  10. ChanceM

    ChanceM Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know if you want to do this on a custom ROM. I can't make any promises and as always with mods I can not assume any responsibility for anything that should happen. I would read the original I9000 forums inside of the link I posted. Note the section that says:

    Now granted I took the chance and it worked for me I will give you the instructions.

    1. go to the link and download the file with the options you want. I used the no menu unlock as I didn't care for it.
    2. copy the file in the ZIP archive to your phone. Either by mounting your sd card and moving it over or directly with adb.
    Note: In the commands I use the location /sdcard/sideload/ this is a folder I created there and you will need to change it to wherever you store the file on your phone.
    3. then issue the commands that I posted from your computer using adb with you phone plugged in and with debugging on.
    or
    issue the commands on your phone using a terminal emulator(freely available in the market) skipping the first command adb shell.
    4. Then your phone will restart and it should have the stock lock-screen.

    If you don't know what ADB is try this link (Android Debug Bridge | Android Developers). Also note that you will need to do this in a command promt in windows from the "SDK install location"/tools folder.

    Best of luck!
    Let us know how it goes for you!
     
  11. ChefNsm

    ChefNsm Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the feedback.:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...