Stock Messaging Questions.General


Last Updated:

  1. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    Handcent NEVER worked on my phone and ive been having troubles with chomp lately so i went back to stock. The things that bug me about the stock one are:

    - When i receive a picture message, its displayed in a slideshow and only have 5 seconds to view it before it disappears.

    HOW DO I DISABLE THAT OR ADD MORE TIME TO VIEW IT?!

    - I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to save a picture i receive,

    HOW DO I SAVE THE PHOTOS?!

    i would love to go back to chomp, but whenever i get a picture message, it makes the stock message service crash and i dont get texts after unless i restart my phone. Whats the deal!?

    thanks in advance for the help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    i figured out how to save the photos, does anyone know the other part?
     
  3. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    bump!

    does anyone even use the stock messaging app anymore?
     
  4. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    68
    I use it, but I never send or receive picture texts.
     
  5. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    well that sucks. not even 1 picture?!
     
  6. jakedagreat

    jakedagreat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Long press the picture to save it.
     
  7. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    anyone?
     
  8. TheDanimal

    TheDanimal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    There's no option to change the amount of time a picture is displayed. just tested with the stock messaging app. It will display the picture for about 5 seconds after i tap on it to view it. It's because the phone displays pictures sent through MMS as a slideshow, even though it's a single picture.
     
  9. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    that is the worst idea ever. now i know why i never use the stock messaging app. also, the keyboard lags like crazy on it. if i use a different app, it doesnt lag at all.
     
  10. drgrcr74

    drgrcr74 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you tap the pic you can press the pause button and the pic will stay up. I still use the stock app. I am a newb.
     
  11. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    whenever i press pause, the picture disappears.

    im just gonna stick to using a 3rd party app. i hope this is just an htc thing and not an android thing.
     
  12. Reverence

    Reverence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have the same problem. Just got a picture message and I had to save it just to be able to view it because the slide show went way too fast. Even after editing the slide show speed for my regular pictures it still didn't change the slide show for the MMS.

    I have an HTC Incredible, not that it makes too much of a difference though.
     
  13. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    i read that if you go into the camera settings, under slide show and set the time to show to a higher time then it would work, but it didnt work for me.
     
  14. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    It seems the be the default behavior in the HTC app. It doesn't do it in the stock Android app or Handcent.

    I recommend Handscent, since it doesn't do this if you receive a single photo.
     
  15. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
    I use Handcent because of those odd little quirks like that in the stock messaging app. You mentioned that Handcent never worked on your phone?
     
  16. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    yea, when i first tried handcent it wouldnt vibrate in vibrate mode. my phone is in vibe mode 90% of the day. so i installed chomp and didnt have any problems for a while. i reinstalled handcent for sh!ts n giggles and i wouldnt receive any mms messages, went back to chomp. got this most recent OTA update and chomp started bugging out on me. i uninstalled it and went to stock, HATE it and tried handcent once more, but with sms popup. it's working fine (knock on wood) and i think i might just have to stick with it.
     
  17. Hypo Luxa

    Hypo Luxa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    32
    Glad it is finally working for you. I haven't had any issues with it at all and I have been very happy with it. I couldn't stand the stock one..
     
  18. rick311

    rick311 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    44
    yea, the stock one is trash! i think it's an htc thing tho.

    i prefer chomp over handcent, but handcent is the only one that is working correctly so ill stick with what works.

    do you know how to change the ugly a$s icon it comes with? its big and nasty looking.
     
  19. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Please, please, please complain to HTC. This is new functionality as of the last maintenance update, and as you obviously noticed, it's quite a nuisance. (And, unfortunately, I'm not fond of Handcent or Chomp--they work fine, but I think the interface is ugly. Even with the few customizations options they have.)

    I've submitted tickets with HTC support and got 3 different stories as to why it's happening--"it always did that even in 1.5," "yes, we added it in the maintenance update, it's working right, there's nothing to fix," and, "don't complain to us, Google did it in 2.1. We have no idea why your phone didn't act that way on 2.1, nothing for us to fix, complain to Google."

    They refuse to acknowledge that it's a problem, and until more people tie up their support personnel with the problem, they likely won't address it.
     
  20. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Mine did it back in 1.5. So its obviously part of the HTC Sense messenger app and they added it on purpose. However, there is no point to it being a slideshow, if there is only a single image with no text.
     
  21. Joe_Evaristo

    Joe_Evaristo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've had two Erises--first one the vibrate died and Verizon replaced it--and it never treated pictures as slideshows until the MR4 update. (And judging by the fact that all the complaints about it on the Eris didn't start until MR4 was released, I find your statement quite unusual.) In fact I've even got a picture of my phone showing as much: http://www.admiraljoe.com/mmsbroken.jpg

    Two pictures sent from the same person, one before MR4, one after.
     
  22. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Yeah. Mine would always change it to a slideshow if I added text to the same message as the picture message before the update. So I sent a picture without text with a normal message as a description. I always considered this to be normal behavior so that was my work-around. Did this both on my replacement and original Eris. However, I've noticed the workaround doesn't work anymore after the update. So I just use Handcent, themed it to look like the stock Android app and all is well.
     
  23. richie65x

    richie65x New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The issue with the Android messaging app and this 5 second image display this was new to me... It exists on the HTC G2 (2.2/Froyo)...

    I called T-Mo support, and they stated that it is supposed to do that. WTF

    What a garbage app the messaging client is on the new OS... apparently this is an Android OS thing.
     
  24. kar0la420

    kar0la420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've had eris for 1 year now, the sideshow thing came out with the last update, nothing we can do but root a custom rom. To save a pic from stock message just hold press right above the above the pic, by the name.

    Chompsms and hand cent were both battery drainers for me so I stuck with stock.
     
  25. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Its actually an HTC thing. The HTC messaging app is almost nothing like the stock Android app. Apparently HTC fudged up the messaging app on several phones. Its not an Android problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...