Stock MMS fix for any rom


Last Updated:

  1. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    tested and proved not to work
     

    Advertisement
  2. Asterdroid

    Asterdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    Has this been tested on the Incredible?
     
  3. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    no but its not a phone specific fix. its a Verizon fix
     
  4. bradm23

    bradm23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    what's wrong with the stock mms app that came with the inc? What's does this fix?
     
  5. Asterdroid

    Asterdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    Gotcha. I'm flashing Sky Raider 1.7 now, so I'll report back once I'm done.
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    its in the first post...it fixes mms through the stock app for the roms that it doesnt work with.
     
  7. jduran0509

    jduran0509 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    any news on how this went? thanks!!
     
  8. pinkstond

    pinkstond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    28
    Well I was able to apply the fix, however they state to run these two commands:

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell rm data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases/mmssms.db
    2. adb shell rm data/data/com.android.providers.telephony/databases/telephony.db
    They wouldn't work, there was nothing in the /data/data directory, so you couldn't delete those two files. I am able to send and receive text messages with out errors. The layout doesn't look the same as the stock image, so I don't know if that is the problem people are experiencing with the MMS.
     
    jduran0509 likes this.
  9. jduran0509

    jduran0509 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    i may try this method tonight if i dont get too busy but i found the two files you spoke of through root explorer. of course i had already made copies just in case but my time is limited on what i can do with this phone so if i do complete this and test it out tonight, i will update.

    sorry if i can't get to it.

    EDIT: tried this with SKY RAIDER, unfortunately it did not work.. i may have done it incorrectly or the files did not really delete from that path. will wait for an update.
     
  10. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    what do you mean the layout is different?
     
  11. pinkstond

    pinkstond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    28
    I mean the Messaging screen looks different than when it was stock. But texting is working fine for me.
     

    Attached Files:

    • mms.png
      mms.png
      File size:
      32.3 KB
      Views:
      14
  12. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    thats becase you wiped your data for that app meaning you reverted back to the stock skin. just change it back agian.

    does mms work for you? what rom are you on?
     
  13. pinkstond

    pinkstond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    28
    I don't know how to change it back again... And I am on Sky Raider 1.8

    EDIT: And no MMS does not seem to be working for me.
     
  14. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    hmm. thats verizons APN and it for sure works on the eris.

    change it banck the same way you changed it originally. in the settings menu
     
  15. pinkstond

    pinkstond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    28
    I didn't change it originally. After flashing Sky Raider 1.8 it has this new look. But I will peruse the settings and see if I can figure it out.
     
  16. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    just reflah the rom them
     

Share This Page

Loading...