Stock or Sense?


Last Updated:

  1. chriscrasto

    chriscrasto Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hey guys. I've been debating turning off sense and using stock android interface. Pros, cons of switching off sense?

    (I could care less about friend stream or stocks FYI)
     

    Advertisement
  2. MisterB

    MisterB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    18
    Android without sense is like Volkswagen. Android with sense is more like an Audi. Much more refined. Both are good. Just a matter of preference.
     
    ekt8750 likes this.
  3. sfasu77

    sfasu77 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump
     
  4. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    Yeah, whatever you like, no real performance difference if that is what you are asking. I turned sense off, hated it, put sense back on 15 minutes later. But that is me, try it, decide what you like for yourself.
     
  5. SeriousBlack25

    SeriousBlack25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    I rather use Helix launcher b/c I'm always holding this phone in Landscape..like I am right now :D
     
  6. chriscrasto

    chriscrasto Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    16
    An interesting representation, but not my question. What would I lose/gain?
     
  7. chriscrasto

    chriscrasto Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    16
    Shameless bump here. Will I lose my widget and icon locations if I disable and re-enable sense?
     
  8. MisterB

    MisterB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    18
    You will lose some refinement.

    Just disable it and see for yourself.
     
  9. nameseer

    nameseer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I disabled sense and cannot turn it back one.

    I go to Settings - Applications - Manage Applications - HTC Sense

    The only thing I can click on is "About", "Clear Data" and "Force Stop"
    When I click Force Stop, I am asked if I am sure I want to stop this application (which isn't running, the android user interface is). I click on "yes", go back to Home, and nothing has changed. I do not know what clicking on "Clear Data" will do.

    How do I turn Sense back on?
     
  10. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    you must clear defaults from the Launcher app not htc sense app
     
    nameseer likes this.
  11. nameseer

    nameseer Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...