1. HUGE Androidforums.com UPDATE! Learn what's new (and download the new app!)
    Dismiss Notice

Stop Stock Media Player App from playing all tracks. Give it specific folders maybe?Tips (Browse All)


Last Updated:

  1. Mysticle31

    Mysticle31 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.

    New to this forum. I'll poke around a bit and gather ideas for my new EVO.

    I've got a question for you guys.

    I love my Evo, however the music app will play EVERY song it finds, including my ringtones and YouMail messages. Can I make it just play the songs in my songs folder (and sub-folders) on my SD Card? I only want it to search my songs folder, not the whole phone or the whole SD Card.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    Welcome to the forums it's an awesome source of info. Here's my first piece of help. If you have a question, do a search on it. It's most likely been covered before:

    http://androidforums.com/samsung-ga...-without-them-appearing-music-player-app.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/131255-audio-files-not-wanted-media-player.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/128418-game-sounds-music-folder.html

    http://androidforums.com/tips-trick...-dont-want-showing-up-stock-music-player.html

    With all that, to answer your question, you can't guide the music player to only play files in a certain folder. Instead you have to direct it to NOT play music in certain folders. Adding a file named ".nomedia" to any folder on your SD card makes it so your music player won't look in that folder for music.
     
    optikalillusi0n likes this.
  3. joehornback

    joehornback Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    12
    I tried this and then the phone quit seeing ringtones that I wanted to use (I have in a folder on the sd card). Where should you put ringtones and notifications at?
     
  4. 82ndCowboy

    82ndCowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    What I did to get a ringtone out of my player was this.
    I went into Astro. Went to the media\audio folder
    created a folder called ringtones
    then went back to the Downloads folder (where the ringtone was), selected the ringtone, and moved it into the
    media\audio\ringtones folder.
    Then I went back into my settings for ringtones and it was there, but not selected. So I selected it. And then made sure it worked. Works fine.
    Then I went to my music player, the ringtone is no longer listed in the player.
     
  5. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    Android fails at music management.
     
  6. KAuss

    KAuss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    15
    Mixzing.......
     
  7. Slick1020

    Slick1020 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    163
    Why go through all of that trouble when all you have to do is create a playlist for the music player?
     
  8. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    Yup, that's what I did.
     
  9. jgalan14

    jgalan14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ok so I'm using cube 3 for my music player but it bugs me to see my ringtones in my playlist even on the stock music player anyway to hide them ? Same thing with cache pictures on the gallery, thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...