Stop Stock Media Player App from playing all tracks. Give it specific folders maybe?Tips


Last Updated:

  1. Mysticle31

    Mysticle31 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.

    New to this forum. I'll poke around a bit and gather ideas for my new EVO.

    I've got a question for you guys.

    I love my Evo, however the music app will play EVERY song it finds, including my ringtones and YouMail messages. Can I make it just play the songs in my songs folder (and sub-folders) on my SD Card? I only want it to search my songs folder, not the whole phone or the whole SD Card.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mabster

    Mabster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    127
    Welcome to the forums it's an awesome source of info. Here's my first piece of help. If you have a question, do a search on it. It's most likely been covered before:

    http://androidforums.com/samsung-ga...-without-them-appearing-music-player-app.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/131255-audio-files-not-wanted-media-player.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-evo-4g/128418-game-sounds-music-folder.html

    http://androidforums.com/tips-trick...-dont-want-showing-up-stock-music-player.html

    With all that, to answer your question, you can't guide the music player to only play files in a certain folder. Instead you have to direct it to NOT play music in certain folders. Adding a file named ".nomedia" to any folder on your SD card makes it so your music player won't look in that folder for music.
     
    optikalillusi0n likes this.
  3. joehornback

    joehornback Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    12
    I tried this and then the phone quit seeing ringtones that I wanted to use (I have in a folder on the sd card). Where should you put ringtones and notifications at?
     
  4. 82ndCowboy

    82ndCowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    3
    What I did to get a ringtone out of my player was this.
    I went into Astro. Went to the media\audio folder
    created a folder called ringtones
    then went back to the Downloads folder (where the ringtone was), selected the ringtone, and moved it into the
    media\audio\ringtones folder.
    Then I went back into my settings for ringtones and it was there, but not selected. So I selected it. And then made sure it worked. Works fine.
    Then I went to my music player, the ringtone is no longer listed in the player.
     
  5. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    Android fails at music management.
     
  6. KAuss

    KAuss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    15
    Mixzing.......
     
  7. Slick1020

    Slick1020 Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    163
    Why go through all of that trouble when all you have to do is create a playlist for the music player?
     
  8. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    Yup, that's what I did.
     
  9. jgalan14

    jgalan14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ok so I'm using cube 3 for my music player but it bugs me to see my ringtones in my playlist even on the stock music player anyway to hide them ? Same thing with cache pictures on the gallery, thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...