storage question on vibrantSupport


Last Updated:

  1. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    I've looked and only found part of my question here.

    The vibrant is advertised as 16gb internal memory, however after all of whatever is on the 16gb we're left with about 12.75 give or take of room left. Now i see that 2gb is apparently reserved for apps and the like, while the other is for music,movies, and so on.

    here is where my questions begin...

    What if I have more than 2gb of apps and games to install? Will it not let me or will it partition more room? I think its kind of stupid to have a phone with this much internal memory and only let 2gb of it be for apps and games, that is absolutely stupid. I may consider activating my 14 day buyers remouse should this be the case. (and its not really 2gb, its 1.58gb)

    I do plan on getting an 8gb+ class 4 or above microsd card, can i install apps to this WITHOUT rooting? or is rooting needed?

    I really, REALLY, hope im not screwed over with only 2gb of wiggle room for apps and games. that will definately put a halt on things.

    [edit]

    I've just read this on android community.com

    "When you say "only 2GB", this is plenty. Most apps are well under 5MB, so you can easily install 500 to 1000 apps on your phone.

    Android 2.2 is due out for these phones in September, which allows you to move apps onto the 14GB partition if you need/want to."

    Any truth to being able to move apps to the bigger partition???? Becuase this would definately put my mind at ease.

    I also read that its not your choice if you can, the developer has to enable it in said application. so that it gives you a choice of where to save it, or you can move it at a later date.

    I did notice, however, that Asphalt 5 was 8mb but required 103mb of additional data to be downloaded. i was worried it would save it to the whimpy 1.58gb of space but alas, it was smarter than that, and saved it on to the 12gb part. But if the option in all/certain apps is to save it to sd (or in the vibrants case, the 12gb partition sd space, or an external SD card) that would be HUGE.
     

    Advertisement
  2. dctony2010

    dctony2010 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that I, for one, was bummed when I found out that only 2GB was reserved for apps. But I haven't yet reached that limit and I have quite a collection of apps, so no complaint from me yet. Anyway, I heard that Froyo (coming soon?) will let you have the option of storing apps on the SD card, so maybe that can be an option for you?
     
  3. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    I think I heard that Froyo is coming by the end of September, but who knows, that might just be wishful thinking. And yes, one of the big features of Froyo is the "A2SD," or Apps to SD.

    2GB for app space really should be plenty. Imagine my frustration when I was using a BlackBerry Bold 9000...with 128MB of total memory. :eek:
     
  4. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    The truth is that even if you return it with buyers remorse, you will NOT find a phone with more app storage space on the market at this time.
    Good luck with whatever you decide.
     
  5. jkcheng122

    jkcheng122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    That's what I was thinking too, what phone has more app storage than the Vibrant? I ran the lagfix which eats up about a gig of that space and I still have plenty of room to install more apps than I can use.
     
  6. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    well if froyo is coming with apps to sd, then all is well. because that gives us with vibrants the option to put stuff on the external SD card or the 12gb partition of the phone.

    and also its not really 2gb, its 1.58gb.
     
  7. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    It sounds like you are complaining for the sake of doing so. The majority of apps are tiny(ie kilobytes) in size. Sure any sort of 3d game will require MBs of space for all the textures, but any developer worth it will know to put such things on the sd card. And yes Froyo is said to come with A2SD, but with the current list of mods for this phone, you can do so now. So really its a moot point.
     
  8. jkcheng122

    jkcheng122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    Think one of the biggest questions in this thread is, "is there any other phone that has a larger app storage than Vibrant?" Storing apps on SD is of no concern here since it's on Froyo and Vibrant will get it.
     
  9. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    Yes, thats exactly what im doing. complaining for the sake of doing so.

    Do you have any idea how stupid that sounds?

    The point im trying to make is i bought the phone going YAY 16GB MEMORY! Only to findout that 1.58gb is for apps. Thats a bummer. How do you think the Iphone fanboys would feel if they bought a 32gb Iphone, but only 1gb of it was for apps? If froyo is offering appstosd so i can move the apps to my sd card or the 12gb partitoin, then hooray!
     
  10. jkcheng122

    jkcheng122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    6
    Which other phone would you have gotten if you knew only 1.58GB is available for app storage?
     
  11. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    Its about software protection and the trade off between a closed system(iphone) and an open one(android). Since the iphone is locked down, there is no(major) worry about people pirating apps, but there is in a completely open system. Thus apps were to be installed in a separate partition users couldn't access easily, but of course the problem is how much space should there be, or could there be if you as a manufacturer had a price point to target and adding more internal memory would only increase it, and a bunch of other issues when it comes to making hardware.

    The hack that allows A2SD now is just that, a hack. It gets Android to bypass this reserved partition. The official A2SD that will be with Froyo is an opt-in system. The developer has to decide if they want to use this feature or not, thus still allowing for some protections from piracy.

    Some info on A2SD Official Froyo A2sd vs A2sd+ - xda-developers
     
  12. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    so is it possible when we all get 2.2 that i could have both features? use the dev's app2sd when available, and if a certain app dosent allow it, use the hack to put the app on to the 12gb partition?
     
  13. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    I'm not a dev, but more then likely someone will do it. Patience is a virtue, but if you dont have that, then do something about it.
     
  14. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    i have much paitence. go to the BHII forum, i was one of the happy people who was content with waiting. i know im not going to fill up the app storage any time soon atleast. but it does make me feel better that froyo with dev permission allows appto sd and that i can at the very least root and then app to sd for the apps that dont have it. it makes me happy panda knowing one way or the other all of the storage on my phone and any storage i ADD to the phone can and will be able to be used.

    Thanks guys!
     
  15. sixstringsam

    sixstringsam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Since we're talking about memory space, let me clearly understand what comes out of the box.

    16gb internal in phone
    2 gb micro SD external
    2 gb standard SD which I have no idea what to do with

    Is this correct?
     
  16. wildblue

    wildblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    16
    Correct except for the last one.

    That's actually just an adapter that allows connecting the microSD card to a standard SD connection, just in case you would want to do that. Since you can connect a USB directly to the phone, as well as use a number of wireless methods, you can access the two internal SD's without really needing that adapter.
     
  17. sixstringsam

    sixstringsam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ahh, very nice. Thanks for the clarification. You're correct, the USB cable makes the adapter obscelete.

    Sam
     
  18. lotsadogs

    lotsadogs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you need the adaptor if you want to print out your phone pics from ur memory card, the micro card will not fit into the kiosks at many drug stores. I am an old lady that does that kind of stuff.
     
  19. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    My question is this.

    The vibrant has 16gb internal. 2gb is reserved for apps and os correct? meaning 14gb should be left over.

    However, we only have 12.7 left over...lets round that up to 13.

    So 13 plus 2 equals 15. Where did the other 1GB go? 1gb couldn't have been lost to formatting.

    Is there an entire 1GB missing or am I just missing something?
     

Share This Page

Loading...