Str.Tlk. data usage limits on Galaxy Proclaim

1. Jetplane

Jetplane Member

I just got the Straight Talk prepaid set-up.(Unlimited,30 days) with my Galaxy Proclaim. I am new to using Android, and I know the Proclaim is new to Straight Talk.
    The plan says

Advertisement
    :
  2. craZDude

craZDude Well-Known Member

Any data you use through wifi won't affect your data usage from Straight Talk, although it will affect any data cap you have ethrough Virgin Mobile.
  3. Jetplane

Jetplane Member

Thanks craZDude, I also top up with unlimited data on the Mi-Fi hotspot although after a certain amount it does slow waaaaay down on kbps. Almost as bad as dial-up.

But I read somewhere that Str. Tk.'s unlimited mobile web is not "really" unlimited. Something like 2Gigs per month or 100 Migs per day and you lose mobile web...?
    I downloaded an app that keeps tabs on my usage. It shows my Wi-Fi usage at about 1.3Mb recieved, and 3.4Mb sent for the average day which is way below my calculated daily allowance based on 1.5 Gb for the month.

But it shows 0 usage across the board for Mobile Web, even though I have been using it. Maybe because of the unlimited status of my account it won't show any usage?
  4. craZDude

The downloaded app should show any usage of mobile data; are you sure you haven't been on wifi the whole time?
  5. Jetplane

Jetplane Member

Yes. I purposely turned off wi=fi. Then checked e-mails,Facebook status etc. for a while, 3G status at the top showed connection, then checked. Zeros across the board.
  6. craZDude

I don't know what to say, thst seems weird.
  7. THE W

THE W Well-Known Member

i am very curious as to whether ST throttles.

technically, all plans from all carriers do, in fact, offer unlimited "data". thats the double-talk. there isnt any plan thats gonna stop you from using as much data as you want, they'll just slow you down or charge you.

there isnt any carrier out there offering unrestricted data though.
  8. DrBrewhaha