Strange..scary..perplexing


  1. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Last night, I received a purchase confirmation from Google Play for Slingplayer ($30!!!). I've never owned a slingplayer and have no use for the app. Checking my account, it appears that the purchase was made using my OGEvo, which I sold over a month ago. The devices page has the Evo still active today, every other device no longer in my possession are inactive. This appears to be the only play activity on the device since I sold it. Fortunately, the account used was one I now only use for email and the cc on it was long expired. I stopped using this account as my "main" Google account before I ever bought the Evo. I contacted Google, and the only advice they gave was to change passwords (done!!). I contacted the buyer and he confirmed that the device was wiped when he received it and denied making any purchase on my account. He didn't even know what a sling player was and my instinct is to believe him. Before shipping the phone, I wiped the device several times and formatted the sd card multiple times. I checked to make sure there was no recoverable data before boxing it up. I've gone and changed every password I have as a precaution even though most were changed within the past 2 weeks. I still have no clue how or why this attempted charge was made which makes it all the more perplexing...and scary!

    Advertisement
    Rico ANDROID likes this.
  2. Rico ANDROID

    Rico ANDROID Well-Known Member

    That IS scary! I've actually thought our accounts were much more safer than that being that only we hold our google account, its tied to our devices when we use Google Play. And we would THUNK all identification files are 100% wiped off when we prepare the device for sale..... inexplanable.

    I sometimes wonder if theres' some back-end code or ID that some google charges goes by and not "include" as a safety-net validation the layer of identification that we have access to modify. So, no matter what we change or wipe on the 'front end', it may not change the origianl record or id on a back end somewhere and the device pings that "id" pushing a charge back to us the original owner (Hey! im out of bananas this morning, my brain goes wild with thought if i dont GIT my FIX)

    Dont they KNOW who they are messing with!?! Show them your ordained certificate! that'll make'em back off!

    [​IMG]
    pastafarian likes this.

Share This Page