Street Address Recognition from a web site

Last Updated:

1. darrin2520

darrin2520 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hello all.

This may be an android question, but I have the Droid, so I thought I would pose it here. I am brand new to the smart phone world, so I am simply blown away by the Droid. One thing that I really like is the way it can recognize a phone number, an email address or an address from the web browser and automatically pull up the proper application.

Based on that, I have written a small mobile web site in order to gain access to my addresses on my work database. It works really well for everything except a street address. I believe the that the issue has to do with the fact that Utah street addresses are often grids, ie:

11111 South 11111 East

These are not recognized as street addresses and therefore I can not click to navigate to the address from the web browser.

First of all, this needs to be fixed in my opinion. :)

Second of all, is there a way that you can specifically tell the browser that this is an address. For instance I have found that I can specify a telephone link with:

<a href="tel:x-xxx-xxx-xxxx">

Which isn't really needed as phone numbers are automatically recognized and pull up the proper application.

Is there a way to specify a street address or a navigation app?

Advertisement
  2. jamesdean

jamesdean Well-Known Member

If you do not find another solution, you might consider My POI from the market. It is a paid application, about 1.50 US and allows you to search a location and then either display on map or navigate to it. The developer worked with me to import my database and it works great.

3. darrin2520