Stuck at "Touch Android to Begin"


Last Updated:

  1. cm728d

    cm728d Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all,

    In a nutshell I did a factory reset and wiped cache on a rooted incredible and am now stuck at that "Touch android to begin" tutorial screen. I was running stock recovery before all of this mess because I was going to upgrade to 2.2.

    When I touch the android guy as opposed to going onto the regular setup it will go to the dialer except there's a grayed out "call ended" button. You can access the dialer but there's no cell connection so its useless. There's no way to escape this setup and get to anything resembling a home screen. Nothing will mount to my PC either, although its recognized as "android bootloader interface". I've been searching around the forums and it doesn't seem to be bricked as I can enter the stock recovery. I even tried to upgrade to 2.2 but I get that "status 7" error and it aborts.

    I had done titanium and nandroid backups before I attempted anything but I'm on stock recovery so its not like I can restore. Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kkl1993

    kkl1993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    90
    well just redownload clockworkmod recovery and flash a ROM. if you want the OFFICIAL OTA then just flash the leaked OTA RUU it is exactly the same.
     
  3. Emoney53

    Emoney53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    16
  4. cm728d

    cm728d Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The phone can't get past that tutorial so I can't get to the market to download it. Also my computer sees it as an android device but I can't access the storage (e:, f:, etc.) so I assume it doesn't mount. I was thinking I could download clockwork and figure out the mount sd card problem
     
  5. Emoney53

    Emoney53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    16
    yea i think the only thing you can do if you still want root is downgrade. load 1st OTA then root again then turn S off then flash roms, kernels and radios then profit!
     
  6. kkl1993

    kkl1993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    90
    i am pretty sure you just get the clockworkmod file and rename it to PB31IMG and then go into HBOOT, then it will ask you to update and then you say yes. you cant flash clockworkmod in the stock recovery.
     
  7. cm728d

    cm728d Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    Do you have s-off? if not forget about flashing clockwork.

    I would stick to flashing the ruu if stock.
     
  9. kkl1993

    kkl1993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    90
  10. cm728d

    cm728d Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    downloading now. If I can get to recovery can I just try to do a nandroid restore at that point or immediately try to load another rom?

    Update: clockwork is back but when I tried to do a nandroid restore it did not work. Same "Touch screen to begin".
     
  11. kkl1993

    kkl1993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    90
    do you want the OFFICIAL OTA FROYO or do you want to download a ROM?
     
  12. cm728d

    cm728d Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking for the official, but at this point whatever is easiest. i know I have the official ota saved on the sd card from when it downloaded last week.

    Right now I'm doing an advanced restore of /data and /cache.
     
  13. kkl1993

    kkl1993 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    90
  14. cm728d

    cm728d Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That Nandroid restore did it, everything is back to normal. Thanks for your help.
    I keep getting that system update popup now to upgrade to 2.2 but I'm done messing around, at least this morning.
     
  15. hrc3000

    hrc3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem + I'm dumb for that kind of stuff.
    Could you guys recommend me what to do?
     
  16. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    welcome to the forums :) have you already tried all the suggestions in this thread?
     

Share This Page

Loading...