Stuck in boot loop


Last Updated:

  1. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest This Topic's Starter

    Hey everyone.
    I successfully rooted my Droid today.

    Just like I did to root, I followed this forum and DroidReview YouTube videos to install ROMs. I installed ROM Manager and downloaded a few (free) ROMs. I made a back up of the stock ROM or whatever you want to call it.

    For both ROMs, after it downloads, installs, and boots, it gets stuck at the Droid and Droid Eye phases. It goes from saying 'Droid', to the eye, to a black screen, and then starts it over and over again.

    Thankfully, I was able to figure out how to restore the previous backup I made using the recovery/nandroid menus.

    So...what's going on with my Droid (or me)? After two tries, I'm guessing it's not the specific ROMs and something else is going on. All help is appreciated! I really want to get this sorted out! Thank you!!!!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    What ROMs did you try to load?
     
  3. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest This Topic's Starter

    ClockWorldMod and CyanogenMod.
    EDIT: I would also like to note that when I installed it, I selected the option to make a back up. I did NOT select wipe data and cache. The video said it was optional and I didn't feel like reactivating again. I'm hoping this isn't relevant...

    Thanks for the quick reply :)
     
  4. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    Most likely, it's because you didn't wipe.
     
  5. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Hmmm...Clockwork Mod and Cyanogen Mod are really the same thing.

    Try this:

    1. Enable wifi to speed things up
    2. Open ROM Manger and select Menu and select Clear Download Cache
    3. Select Download ROM
    4. Select CyanogenMod
    5. Select CyanogenMod 5.0.7.1

    You said you already have a nandroid, so skip backing up your ROM.

    Select Wipe Data/Cache. (You will have to re-activate on reboot after the install.)

    Let us know how that works.

    FYI: Selecting wipe data/cache will remove all your installed apps and any data from your phone (e.g., SMS/MMS, home screen settings, app settings, call log, etc.). Your SD card is not touched. So if you want to restore any of those back on top of your new ROM you'll need programs like MyBackup Pro, Titanium Backup (great for app backups particularly), etc.

    Your apps may restore automatically after reboot - that doesn't always work on 2.1 ROMs, but you might get lucky. If they don't auto-restore, then you'll have to either re-install them yourself from the Market, or use one of the apps above to back them up.

    P.S. IF you want the most recent CyanogenMod ROM, you could load the 5.0.8 Test3 build from here:

    http://www.koush.tandtgaming.com/motorola/sholes/

    There is also a themed test1 build here:

    http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/index.php?/topic/20-theme-extremely-blue-for-cyanogenmod/

    I've run both test1 and test3, and both ran perfectly for me. To install those you download the zip file to your SD card, and then use the "install ROM from sd card" option in ROM manager.
     
  6. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
  7. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest This Topic's Starter

    Thanks for the help! I'll try that when I get home.

    Since I'm running 2.0.1, I miss the 2.1 features already. I didn't think about this before, but do these ROMs have 2.1 features? Like are they based on 2.1?
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    They are all 2.1 ROMs, the ones I posted. Have fun. :)
     
  9. ebbs15

    ebbs15 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue... I installed SPRecovery last night with no issues... then tried to install Fabolous' NexFro101.zip

    I renamed it to update.zip and placed it in the root of my sd card. rand a wipe/factory reset then wipe cashe... then allow and install of the update.zip.

    now, like the OP I am stuck in a boot loop. only I did not make a backup. I'm trying to find a way to connect my sd card to at least see if I can get another rom on my sd card to try... but I'm sure it's something I did, not the ROM. (as many others had no issues)

    I followed this tutorial step by step... Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

    any insights?
     
  10. ebbs15

    ebbs15 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    NEVER MIND! I got it! found my little micro sd to sd adapter. re loaded the update.zip on my sd card and tried again... PERFECT! thanks any ways for the help!
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Happy ending... :)
     
  12. ebbs15

    ebbs15 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    no doubt... though just rebooted the phone and lost 3g... wiped cache and re installed rom and it's back... odd :confused:
     
  13. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    It's definitely happened to me with various ROM/kernel/theme configurations. This is why BACKING UP is so crucial. You're fixed in a few minutes and can try to figure out what went wrong with the combination of settings. :)
     
  14. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest This Topic's Starter

    Thanks for the help! It worked with BB (it was already on ROM Manager and I was stuck without my computer for a little longer). I didn't select Back Up but I did select wipe.

    I realize this whole forum is full of ROMs, but does anyone have a favorite? I'm looking for something with a black/glossy look. Also, how do I get the big "HTC" clock for my home screen? I thought this version of BB had it, but it apparently doesn't.

    Thanks again :D
     
  15. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
    For ROMs, I've had some great ones, but they're constantly changing, so no favorite.
    For the clock, check out either Beautiful Widgets (tons of skins, but a few that look identical to the HTC Sense one) or Weather and Toggle Widget. Both are a couple bucks, but well worth it.
     
  16. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest This Topic's Starter

    I'll look at both.
    Another question, sorry. In the Froyo themes sticky, there's the ROMs and then the themes. I know they're different, but what's the difference? How do you install just a theme? Do any themes install over any ROM? And what's the point, since ROMs have their own themes...?
     
  17. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest This Topic's Starter

    And....what's a kernel compared to ROM?
    (I swear, I'm very computer literate. But I'm just learning this phone Android stuff!)
     
  18. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Kernel = what makes the phone CPU go, controls the options you have to speed up (or down) your phone's CPU. Also comes bundled with files that support wifi. Kernels are often named for their top speed (e.g., P3Droid's 1.2 Ghz LV (low voltage) kernel.) Custom kernels are primarily used to
    overclock (speed up) the CPU to get better performance.

    ROM = the operating system that runs on your phone - think of it like what Windows is to a PC.

    ROMs come with a kernel - when you install a ROM you also install a kernel that is included with it. Often referred to as the default, or stock kernel for that ROM.

    Kernels are also available as standalone items you can install on top of a ROM, to replace the stock kernel. So you could install a ROM and then try out a bunch of different kernels with it if you wanted to. Individual phones can be very sensitive to kernel speed...so one person can run a phone at 1.2Ghz fine, while others will find that the fastest they can overclock is 900 MHz. (Stock speed on a Droid is 550MHz, IRRC.)

    Themes change the look of a ROM. Themes can be applied on top of a ROM using the same steps you use to install the ROM, or can be applied on top of a ROM via a program called Metamorph. The theme distributor will (or can if you ask) tell you how the theme is supposed to be installed. Only apply themes to a ROM if you are sure that it is compatible - check the theme's release thread for details.

    Themed ROMs are ROMs where a theme has already been applied for you.
     
  19. akkkmed

    akkkmed Guest This Topic's Starter

  20. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19,890
    Likes Received:
    6,118
  21. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    This is a free widget that has less functionality than Weather & Toggle Widgets and Beautiful Widgets...but if you're just looking for the HTC clock...this is it.

    Fancy Widget - Android app on AppBrain
     
  22. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    Just got a replacement DROID after my power button broke and had similar problems as the OP. Thought I'd chime in here in case someone, like myself, ends up in this thread looking for help while stuck in a boot loop.

    Here's what I did:

    1) Downloaded and applied rooted 2.1.zip (phone already had 2.0.1 on it)
    2) Ran ROM Manager and downloaded/installed newest Cyanogenmod
    3) DIDN'T WIPE DATA/CACHE
    4) Boot Loop

    Tried installing the rooted 2.1 .zip through recovery and still got boot loop. Tried to install 5.0.6.1 Cyanogenmod I had on my SD card with no luck again.

    Ended up doing a factory reset in recovery. Rebooted successfully and the Cyanogenmod 5.0.6.1 booted.

    Moral of the story? Wipe data/cache.
     

Share This Page

Loading...