Stuck in manual deodex question:


Last Updated:

  1. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    I've successfully done most of the steps to manually deodex.
    However, when I get to the last step, it says

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Steven>adb shell
    'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.


    This is what the last step says to do: (and I get stopped with the above message) I'm sure it's a simple mistake, but any guidance would be appreciated! TIA!


    Open a command prompt, and do the following:
    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    stop
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    cp /sdcard/done_app/* /system/app/
    cp /sdcard/done_frame/* /system/framework/
    rm /system/app/*.odex
    rm /system/framework/*.odex
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    reboot
     

    Advertisement
  2. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    Sorry i'm no help, but I got a ? also. You open the command prompt on the pc right? Or do I open terminal emulator?
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    I'm checking through the droidx forum and it's leading me to believe it's terminal emulator, so I installed it and am trying it. I'll let you know. The problem is that the letters are so small for these old eyes to see!
     
    eraursls1984 likes this.
  4. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    terminal emulator is denying everying.

    oh well.
     
  5. Paycer

    Paycer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    98
    Is your current directory set to the tools folder of your Android SDK?

    Code (Text):
    1. Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    2. (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    3.  
    4. C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>adb shell
    5. 'adb' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    6. operable program or batch file.
    7.  
    8. C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>cd desktop/android/tools
    9.  
    10. C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\android\tools>adb devices
    11. List of devices attached
    12.  
    13.  
    14. C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\android\tools>adb shell
    15. error: device not found
    16.  
    17. C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\android\tools>
    My phone isn't currently plugged in, clearly, but that's the situation that you need to be in, in order to use ADB.
     
  6. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Thanks. I looked online and was headed to that conclusion. I realized I had to point the dos prompt. Thanks for reminding me how. It's been a long time since I used dos.! :)
    I'll let you know how it goes. tia!

    hehe: I remembered! Now it is!

    eraursls1984! Type this in your dos prompt before you try the commands:

    cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools

    I'm in the right place and I'm going to try it from here. I'll let you know how it goes!
     
    eraursls1984 likes this.
  7. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    almost:

    Now I'm getting this error:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    C:\Users\Steven>cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    # su
    su
    # stop
    stop
    # mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblkl
    mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblkl
    Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory
    # p21 /system
    p21 /system
    p21: not found
    # p21 /system
    p21 /system
    p21: not found
    #
     
  8. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    I haven't use dos prompt in about 15 years so I remember nothing about it. I'm having a hard time getting in the right directory, I keep copying and pasting the sdk folder in different locations trying to get it to come up but no luck.

    the prompt says

    c:\users\owner>

    and then waiting for my command.
     
  9. Paycer

    Paycer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    98
    eraursls1984, issue the command cd followed by the directory location of the, "tools," folder that's located in your Android SDK.

    ie. - cd /desktop/android/tools/

    Why are you trying to issue, "p21 /system/"? That isn't a command or a step.

    Follow these steps.
    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell
    2. su
    3. stop
    4. mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    5. cp /sdcard/done_app/* /system/app/
    6. cp /sdcard/done_frame/* /system/framework/
    7. rm /system/app/*.odex
    8. rm /system/framework/*.odex
    9. mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    10. reboot
    Each line is one command that needs to be issued.
     
    eraursls1984 likes this.
  10. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    hahah! Thank you! it must've word wrapped! On the page I was reading it from the p 21 part wasn NOT on the same line. I get it. NP. I'll go back in and try again. :)
     
  11. ThatOneDude05

    ThatOneDude05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    22
    when i type in adb shell i don't get that message that you got here.... i dont get the # sign either... I am rooted also I have no idea whats stopping me from doing this lol
     
  12. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    Paycer, I saw a post where you said if it stays a $ then you don't have root but I do I just used root explorer and took screens with drocap2 to make sure. It stays "$" and tells me permission denied?
     
  13. Paycer

    Paycer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    98
    You need to have the Android SDK downloaded and be able to use ADB. If you can't use ADB, then you need to read up on how to do so.

    EDIT:
    How are you connecting your phone to your computer? As in, what USB mode have you selected on your phone?

    How did you root your phone? What software version are you currently at and what method was used to upgrade to it?

    Make sure you have access to the ADB command and your phone is plugged in. Type su. Does it tell you, "permission denied," as well?
     
  14. ThatOneDude05

    ThatOneDude05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have android SDK downloaded I rooted using ADB. Im connect PC mode USB debugging im at 2.2 and I did it OTA. after i type in su it does nothing i get permission denied when i type in stop.
     
  15. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Ok.. I got one error message in the text. It said something was "read only" I'll highlight it. Can you tell me if I was successful or not? I did try it twice. TIA!

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Steven>cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    # su
    su
    # stop
    stop
    # mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory
    # cp /sdcard/done_frame/* /system/framework/
    cp /sdcard/done_frame/* /system/framework/
    cp: /system/framework/am.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/android.policy.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/bmgr.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.blockbuster.moto.lib.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.cequint.platform.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.google.android.maps.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.Firewall.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.camera.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.customization.jar: Read-only file sys
    tem
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.datamanager.base.jar: Read-only file
    system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.dlna.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.drm1.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.frameworks.jar: Read-only file system

    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.mediasync.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.mime.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.mobad.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.syncml.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.telephony.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.widget.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.android.wmdrm.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.atcmd.base.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.atcmd.pluginMgr.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.blur.library.friendfeed.jar: Read-only file s
    ystem
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.blur.library.home.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.blur.library.messaging.jar: Read-only file sy
    stem
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.blur.library.service.jar: Read-only file syst
    em
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.blur.library.utilities.jar: Read-only file sy
    stem
    cp: /system/framework/com.motorola.tiltscroll.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/com.pv.extensions.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/core.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/dmt.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/ext.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/framework-tests.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/framework.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/ime.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/input.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/javax.obex.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/jcifs-krb5-1.3.12.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/monkey.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/pm.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/services.jar: Read-only file system
    cp: /system/framework/svc.jar: Read-only file system
    # rm /system/framework/*.odex
    rm /system/framework/*.odex
    rm failed for /system/framework/am.odex, Read-only file system
    # rm /system/framework/*.odex
    rm /system/framework/*.odex
    rm failed for /system/framework/am.odex, Read-only file system
    # mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    # reboot
    reboot

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>

    Last question, how do I tell if I'm deodexed fer shur? TIA!
     
  16. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    I tried in pc mode, then charge only, then mass storage, and pc mode again. Pc mode isn't in "debugging" mode thats why I tried the others.

    2.2 OTA, rooted the semi one click method, lol.
    1. Extract and Update Android SDK package to your computer. The file comes in a zip file. Just open it up and drag and drop the android-sdk-windows folder to your C drive. Next, extract the files from the DORoot zip file to the tools folder of Android SDK. You should be moving 7 or 8 files into the tools folder.
    2. Install Motorola Drivers
    (Tip, to stop the launching of the Verizon/Motorola site, go to the MotoConnect icon in the bottom righ, right click, when phone connects, nothing.)
    3. Make sure you phone is in PC Mode with USB Debugging enabled
    PC Mode: Notification blind -> USB connection -> PC Mode
    USB Debugging: Settings -> Applications -> Development -> USB debugging
    You need USB debugging icon showing in notifications. Try Charge Only if you can't get PC Mode to show USB debugging.
    4. Double-click and run doroot.bat


    What is abd command? Isn't that just getting to the sdk tools folder? I entered "cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools" and it got me to that directory finally


    Thanks for all your help Paycer and steven
     
  17. Paycer

    Paycer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    98
    ERROR: OVERFLOW
    *head explodes*

    You messed up on this part.
    Code (Text):
    1. # mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    2. mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    3. Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory
    You issued this command incorrectly.
    Code (Text):
    1. mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    It needs to be like this.
    Code (Text):
    1. mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    Do not put a space after the comma and before "remount".

    When you tried to mount /system/, it didn't work correctly and you therefore did not have read/write permissions. You were still left with read-only permissions and that's why the commands thereafter failed.

    __________________

    What do you mean, "it does nothing,"? Try doing the process like you've been doing, right click in the command prompt, and click on, "Mark." Left-click and highlight everything, then hit Enter. Paste the text here, please.

    __________________

    Your phone needs to be in PC Mode when connected and have, "USB debugging," enabled in Menu > Settings > Applications > Development.

    If you're in that directory, then you can now use ADB. ADB stands for Android Debug Bridge. It's essentially the same thing as using the Terminal Emulator on your phone, but it's from your computer instead. It's just a terminal shell that allows you to issue certain raw commands.

    Type adb help to learn more about the command and its variants.
     
    eraursls1984 likes this.
  18. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    Debugging is selected but it doesn't show up in the notification bar when in pc mode, only when in charge onle or mass storage modes.
     
  19. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    Your gonna have a major headache tomorrow Paycer if not already, haha
     
  20. ThatOneDude05

    ThatOneDude05 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    22
    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    015A9CA604022021 device


    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    $ su
    su
    stop
    stop
    Permission denied
    $ $ mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount: Operation not permitted
    $


    this is what im getting. lol im getting frustrated and thanks for helping me out
     
  21. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    .
     
  22. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Update:

    I did it again. Something told me that maybe if I had a read-only response, I should try it in pc mode. I did. This time I got this. There seemed to be an error at the bottom, but take a look and tell me what you think. TIA!

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.


    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    # su
    su
    # stop
    stop
    # mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /sytem
    mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /sytem
    Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory
    # mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount -o rw, remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    Usage: mount [-r] [-w] [-o options] [-t type] device directory
    # mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    # cp /sdcard/done_app/* /system/app/
    cp /sdcard/done_app/* /system/app/
    # cp /sdcard/done_frame/* /system/framework/
    cp /sdcard/done_frame/* /system/framework/
    # rm /system/framework/*.odex
    rm /system/framework/*.odex
    # mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount: Device or resource busy
    # mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    mount: Device or resource busy
    # reboot
    reboot

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>
     
  23. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    If I have to stop and unplug my phone after getting this far but not finishing will my phone be messed up? If not, when I start tomorrow will I restart from this step, or restart from beginning?
     
  24. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    Are you sure it didn't take? Did you check the "/system/app/" directory for .odex file extensions?
     
  25. Paycer

    Paycer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    98
    Then something isn't right. Try reinstalling the Motorola drivers.

    http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/Support/Experiences/Global_Drivers/USB_Drivers_bit_4.7.1.zip

    I recommend following this thread. It's relevant to your interests. :p
    http://androidforums.com/droid-x-su...9-droid-x-doesnt-connect-computer-period.html
    I don't know about the headache, but my eyes have been hurting a little bit for a while now. Too much phone + PC time.

    1.) Go a little slower with issuing the commands. I can see overlaps when you're jumping the gun and trying to do another command when it's still trying to process the initial one(s). You have to wait for the $ or # prompt to come back before issuing another command.

    2.) Like I said, if you can't get the # prompt, then I don't see how you can have root access. Try re-rooting and redoing the commands after. I don't know what else to tell you. :( Sorry.

    You're doing it again. Never put a space after rw, or before remount.

    EDIT: Actually, I think you did the process correctly. I reread and I think you corrected yourself. I just didn't notice it until now. The prompt telling you that the device or resource is busy is normal. Go ahead and try the entire process again just to make sure. The second time around, it shouldn't give you that error.

    To make sure, do as I said in the quote a few posts above. Check /system/app/ to see if there are any files with an .odex file extension. If there aren't any, then you've successfully deodexed.

    I don't know exactly where you're at. I'm helping like four different people and things are beginning to get jumbled. I don't really recommend stopping the process halfway through, but all you're really doing when deodexing is removing some files afaik. You should be okay.
     

Share This Page

Loading...