Stuck on ClockworkMod Recovery Screen


Last Updated:

  1. jmet

    jmet Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi all....I successfully rooted yesterday. Installed wireless tether and was going to uninstall some bloatware. When I get to the ClockworkMod Recovery screen, it won't select anything. I can move up and down but when I select it with the power button, it just goes to a blank screen....like your locking the screen. When you hit the power button again, the menu comes back.

    Any idea whats wrong and what I need to do to correct the issue?
     

    Advertisement
  2. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Hitting the power button isn't the way to do it. That just sleeps the screen or moves back a menu.

    Push the joyball/trackstick thingy button :)
     
  3. CarlGustav

    CarlGustav Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    5
    You have to click the trackball for selection in clockwork.
     
  4. jmet

    jmet Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
  5. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    What are you trying to specifically do?
     
  6. jmet

    jmet Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    Getting rid of CityID and other crapware the put on there...I would also like to find like a msconfig so I can stop all the dang apps from starting up everytime I reboot the phone

    Edit: Trying to create that "mkdir /system/app.disabled" folder to put the apps I don't want in there.
     
  7. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    There are root apps that can control your startup on the market.

    That said, you should be in adb shell, in clockwork. You must also use the paritions menu to moun the system partition.

    At the prompt, you would type mkdir /system/app/disabledapps.

    That should do it.

    Personally, I nuke the stuff and CityID goes deeper than just the apk. Its also in the framework.
     
  8. jmet

    jmet Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    4
    How do I just nuke it? I thought after I had rooted, I would just be able to just uninstall the apps normally like other apps
     
  9. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885

Share This Page

Loading...