Stupid Lag Fix


Last Updated:

  1. thirtyfour41

    thirtyfour41 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have tried 3 different ways of applying this stupid lag fix, none of which work. Now I probably have 3 of them installed (even though my benchmark says 800 something) and want to get those off before I try again.

    Question 1: How do I remove what I've already tried to install?

    Question 2: How the hell do I get this to work? Everyone else seems to have no problem. I've tried the OCLF app, I've also tried running a .bat file through Windows and ADB and then applying an update.zip. None of which have done a damn thing. I'm starting to get really frustrated. Can anyone help or send me in the right direction?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. mackeydesigns

    mackeydesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    13
    Sounds like to me something isn't updated, perhaps BusyBox isn't running 1.7.1?

    I did that to mine, I thought the root pushed the latest BusyBox, but it was out of date, so when I did the lag fix it didn't work.

    Unless you're not reading the materials closely enough, the lag fix has an unlagme.bat function, run it and it will remove the lagfix.

    Update BusyBox by doing an ADB push, and then do the lag fix.

    If you have this much trouble following instructions, perhaps rooting and doing the lag fix wasn't a good idea.

    (btw, I was an SDK noob prior to this phone, I download the SDK tools specifically to root my Fascinate, It took me about 30 minutes, reading, understanding and fixing my issues, then I did my wife's in about 5-10)
     
    thirtyfour41 likes this.
  3. thirtyfour41

    thirtyfour41 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    I did push the newest version of busybox, but maybe I screwed something up. I have no problem following the directions, I rooted my Dinc with no problems, and also rooted this with no problems. But for some reason this lag fix just isn't taking. I'm too pissed off to try this again tonight, so I'll give this a shot tomorrow when my nerves are calmer :)
     
  4. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    Can you download the lag fix from the market?
     
  5. howdy

    howdy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    9
    might need to push the busybox to \bin and \xbin

    I ended up uninstalling the lag fix, doesn't seem to make any difference from what I can tell.
     
  6. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Yeah outside of the Quadrant score skyrocketing lag fix does not really seem to improve overall device performance in a tangible manner
     
  7. ronturn49

    ronturn49 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah that is what I did after rooting first.
     
  8. pman219

    pman219 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    52
    Just my $.02

    I did the lag fix and got phenomenal quadrant scores, but my phone ran like sh*t.
    I removed it and it's now smooth as silk.
    Check out the thread over at XDA lots of similar experiences.

    FWIW
     
  9. thirtyfour41

    thirtyfour41 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Maybe I'll just hold off on it, then. I mean, the phone doesn't run horribly. The only reason I guess I notice it is because I came from a Dinc which I had running CM6, so it was fast as hell. I've decided, though, not to mess with this phone as much as I did with the Dinc. I notice the more I messed with it, the more things wouldn't work, and programs wouldn't work. And I just got sick of having to wipe and restore everything. If an easier way to speed up the Fasc comes out, I might do it, but for now I'm way too annoyed with this one. Thanks for all the advice, guys.

    By the way, what difference does it make if the quadrant scores shoot up? Does it really improve the performance or does the fix just trick quadrant into giving it higher scores? Will we ever really know?
     
  10. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Clearly it does little to nothing to boost overall device performance; it really does seem to boost that one synthetic benchmark
     

Share This Page

Loading...