Stupid Question about Roaming


Last Updated:

  1. wmbjr

    wmbjr New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this is probably a stupid question, but I noticed most of the ROM's available for the Eris are actually Sprint ROM's from the Hero or other phones. I assume since everyone is running these and not screaming about roaming charges, that they somehow know it is a Verizon phone and it uses the Verizon network? Or am I using the Sprint network when I use one of the Sprint ROM's. Just curious how it all works and making sure I am not going to be hit with roaming or using the Sprint network when I want Verizon. Thanks in advance for any clarification!

    WB
     

    Advertisement
  2. lewa

    lewa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Interesting.

    Well, you don't have a plan with verizon, so they wouldn't even let you use their network.
     
  3. chaos0422

    chaos0422 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sprint shares towers with Verizon so you are just useing a radio that was made by sprint
     
  4. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    I think it all falls back to the phone's IMEI or ESN.
     
  5. benso87

    benso87 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    As far as I know, Verizon phones can't function on Sprint's network due to the fact that the companies use entirely different frequency bands, so I don't see any way this could be an issue. I wouldn't worry about it.
     
  6. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    57
    Verizon : CDMA 850
    Sprint: CDMA PCS (1900)
    ATT: GSM 850
    T-Mobile: GSM 1900

    That's the majority of their networks, however VZ and Sprint roam each other, as well as with other networks that use CDMA and ATT and T-Mobile will roam each other if they have to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...