SU takes long time, different rom install?, Wifi Tether


Last Updated:

  1. jcsaxx

    jcsaxx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trying to run WIFI TETHERING, but SU just sits there and doesn't seem to do anything, but maybe force close. Running Smash rom. Honestly, I would probably switch roms, but I don't know how to do that. Someone else rooted my phone.

    Also, I'd love to get rid of stock apps. Any help would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. darkside

    darkside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    30
    I had the same issue with ZenExp and SU, Would just sit at the black screen until i closed it out.

    Flashing Roms is simple,
    1.Download rom and put it in the sdcard
    2. Power off phone and then when you power it on, hold VolumeUp+Power which will boot you into amons recovery.
    3. Scroll down with trackball to wipe and wipe data and Dalvik
    4. Go to flash from Zip and choose the rom you downloaded
    5. Wait for it to flash and the choose to reboot your phone,

    Congratulations you just flashed a rom
     
    jcsaxx likes this.
  3. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Generally how I fixed it, was have the phone connected to a PC while in having Debug mode enabled. Go to and run apps that need SU access and it will bring up the prompt to allow SU access. For some reason that got SU to work.
     
    jcsaxx likes this.
  4. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    Normally when SU hangs and then FCs, you dont have usb debugging enabled and it needs to be enabled for SU to work properly.
     
    jcsaxx likes this.
  5. jcsaxx

    jcsaxx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1

    Ok, I downloaded EvilEris3.0 (111mb), and followed your instructions. After I see the 3 little skateboards, the screen is blank and does nothing at all. I have been waiting at least 10 minutes, then pull the battery. Is there another step or something that I must do? Luckily, I can go back to Smash without any problems, by doing the above instructions. When I do this I am NOT connected to my usb cable and I don't have usb debugging on (whatever that is).
     
  6. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    you probably need to wait longer. load it and forget about it for about 20 minutes...i know, not easy to do...
     
  7. jcsaxx

    jcsaxx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1

    Nope, not working even after 30 minutes. Still showing a blank screen. Is there anything with the usb that I must do?
     
  8. MJL

    MJL Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    27
    You are probably stuck in a boot loop now, just dont have a boot animation to show it. Have you tried using a2sd in the past? Some roms dont work properly with certain versions of a2sd and you need to wipe ext also. So try this before anything else. Recovery > Wipe > Data, dalvik, and ext partition. It will wipe anything on your ext partition if you have created one. Then reinstall EE. I would also suggest you get a good copy of EE from grdlocks site prior to reinstalling.
     
    jcsaxx likes this.
  9. jcsaxx

    jcsaxx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1

    No, not using a2sd. Trying what you said to do, but its having the same result after 20 minutes so far. Will wait another 10 or so minutes before going back to Smash, as its the only one that works so far.
     
  10. jcsaxx

    jcsaxx Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Now my phone is really jacked up. Tried reloading Smash rom, but it keeps going through a "loop" of showing the Verizon Wireless and HTC "quietly brilliant". CRAP. Please help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...