Successful rooting with 2.1v3...until I turn phone off.


Last Updated:

  1. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Twice now, I've successfully used AR recovery routine to install the 2.1v3 (rooted) on my Eris, (previously running the original "v1" root). Install was a breeze--tho' I had to "push" the recovery .img and the flash routine by dragging them onto the SD/into nested "system" and "bin" folders manually while mounted to my Mac, as the first command prompt instructions generated error messages...the remainder of the command prompt instructions then executed successfully on my girlfriend's Windows machine, where I could install the SDK.

    I restored my Apps...got everything set up, widget-ed, etc. All well until I turned my phone off when going to the theatre...on powering back on: got to lock screen, but when I unlocked I had a black screen with an "unexpectedly stopped. Force close and try again" message for com.htc.launcher. When I click the Force Close button, I immediately get another dialogue saying com.htc.mms has stopped...and then the first, com.htc.launcher dialogue pops up over and over, with the background behind never therefore progressing beyond the black screen with silver/gray "htc" logo.

    Have just gone through this entire life cycle for the second time. Has anyone else seen this behavior, or have any suggestions? The one reference to massive cascades of FC's I'd found mentioned Facebook sync as a possible problem, so I didn't enable Facebook syncing this second time...apparently that wasn't the problem.

    Help! Or I'll never be able to turn my phone off again.
     

    Advertisement
  2. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357

    which rom?
     
  3. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is JCase's "rooted, base ROM" version of 2.1v3.

    (Is that the answer you were looking for? I've done a lot of kicking the doors and slamming the tires on Mac, but am new-ish to doing anything to phones other than Bitpim...So I'm trying to avoid any rampant "don't know what I'm talking about" issues in discussing this. Grin.)
     
  4. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or, if it's clearer: It's JCase's rooted version of the 2.1-leak-version-3.
     
  5. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Multiple re-boots haven't helped, including a re-boot initiated from within AR's recovery routine, in case that was different in some way. Right now I'm trying a battery pull again, although it hasn't made any difference on previous attempts.
     
  6. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    you need to wipe before install.
     
  7. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Wipe before you install" as in run the wipe data/wipe Dalvik routines before flashing the ROM zip file? Done in each instance.
     
  8. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Where did you get your file from, and did you check the md5sum
     
  9. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, had to go skim a dozen pages to find the link for the rooted ROM:

    Rooted Leak3 (which is the 4th leak? lol) Rom Base DOWNLOAD - xda-developers

    Interestingly, no checksum info listed, tho' there seems to be a large number of satisfied customers using that link to download. Again, my phone worked without glitches for a full day of normal use UNTIL it powered down. I'll keep rummaging to see whether I can find a checksum for the file...
     
  10. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    is it really necessary to reboot your phone? :eek:
     
  11. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, you THINK you're teasing: I've actually been trying to persuade myself to think of this as a semi-feature, and just try not to run the battery down when I'm out of the house...

    But not knowing why would continue to bug me. : )
     
  12. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    ya, but it sounds like an issue in your phone specifically. and its not like you can go to verizon and tell them that root isnt sticking on your phone so you want a refurb :p
     
  13. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Here's an idea... Just flash a different ROM.

    :)


    If problem persists, well... I guess you're SOL.

    No, really though.. Try a diff rom and please report back.
     
  14. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now, I'd been running the first-ever rooted ROM from here:

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-eris/53963-guide-stock-1-5-latest-root-2-1-a.html

    ...for several weeks, with no symptoms whatsoever.

    Are there any other rooted variants available for 2.1v3 that I could try flashing? Would it be revealing if I flash v2--which I'm reading has plenty of other exciting hiccups--and see if this particular problem still exists in that, earlier version?
     
  15. jcase

    jcase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    261
    OK, redownload,, relfash, wipe dalvik, wipe data.

    Then report back.
     
  16. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    JCase! Thank you for posting; clearly this is something either specific to my phone, or to a garbled-in-transmission download--your actual release is clearly pretty rock solid.

    I'm on my third instance of boot-into-recovery/wipe data/wipe dalvik/reflash-from-same-.zip....this time I didn't restore ANY apps, but re-downloaded everything manually, and restored only text-message data and a few other personal-data sorts of things. Facebook sync is off. I've turned the phone off-and-then-on twice today, so far no repeat.

    JCase, if this happens again--handset is charging, and I'll turn it on again in an hour or two--I will absolutely start from a fresh download of your release, and will update the thread accordingly.

    Was there anything specific, helpful to you, that I can try to provide more data about, or are we simply ruling out pilot error on my part? (With which I'm totally in sympathy...)
     
  17. drenkin

    drenkin Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the moment, it's behaving itself, which suggests that one of the restored apps had a problem on previous rounds of re-flashing.

    There are one or two apps I didn't reinstall, simply in the interest of getting a functional phone ASAP (a lot of my work communication is via texting these days) and when I'm feeling daring I'll download those again, and see if my phone's brain explodes... (One was the game Mysterium, the other was the Gesture Search app...probably one or two others...)

    Grateful thanks for feedback and suggestions. If one of those apps promptly takes me down again, I'll post the info in case it's helpful to anybody.
     

Share This Page

Loading...