Suddenly cannot connect .....Support


Last Updated:

  1. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have not had many probs with my Hero until now. I have had it for 8 months. Yesterday I uninstalled a game. I tried to install a new game, but it was unsuccessful. I powered off, and then on, the phone. Still no luck. I tried some other programs, such as accessing my email, and I could not connect. A little while later, I took out the battery and restarted the phone, again.

    The phone worked fine for about 14 hours, but now I cannot connect. I have tried to Update the PRL, but it doesn't do anything when I click it. I cannot connect to the internet, cannot send pix via text message, cannot refresh my email inboxes, etc.

    I am starting to panic a little. I cannot go very long without being connected, you know?

    If anyone has help ideas, please let me know!

    TIA :eek:
     

    Advertisement
  2. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    I would try turning mobile networks off and back on again. Menu/settings/wireless & networks/mobile network. Uncheck it..wait a minute oir so, then check it again.

    Are you getting any error messages?
     
  3. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    I did that, about 3 times. It says "connected" and I don't get an error message at that point. However, I still cannot access a browser or my email.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Have you had Sprint check everything on their end?
     
  5. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    No. Not yet. I was really hoping someone here could help. I hate visiting or talking to Sprint people. Plus, I figure they will just tell me to reset to factory, yk?

    I will call them now and report back (once I am off hold, etc.).
     
  6. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Sounds like a provisioning issue that they'll need to look at.
     
  7. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    The person I talked to said the only way to fix it is to upgrade to the latest software (I am still running 1.5 because until now, it has worked just fine.)

    I am skeptical.....
     
  8. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Agreed, sounds like BS. My Hero is about 3000+ miles away at the moment so I can't even go through settings.

    I'd call again and speak to tech support. I'm certain it has nothing to do with you being on 1.5.
     
  9. Morgue94

    Morgue94 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a HTC Hero that I got from a Sprint store earlier this year. Recently any application that involves an internet connection (mainly Facebook, Google Maps, the Internet Browser, Weather.com, Market) won't work at all. I am still able to make and receive calls and text messages, but no avail on the internet.

    I've tried resetting the phone, taking the battery out and putting it back in, making sure airplane mode isn't on, toggling with the Wifi, making sure Mobile Network is turned on... I'm not sure what it might be.

    Any help appreciated. Thanks!
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Thread moved to the Sprint Hero support section :)
     
  11. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    Currently on hold waiting for an advanced tech person....... but, the first person I talked to today said that many people with the Hero have been having internet probs for about 3 days. Hmmmm. Then she said it was a Google problem, not a Sprint problem. Then she had me check my "active profile" and when I told her it was "0" (not "1") she sent me to "escalation."

    Still on hold....
     
  12. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well, I have been given an eTicket number and will be visiting a Sprint store later today. NOT my fav thing to do. :(
     
  13. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have not been able to get my Hero online for 3 days. I called Sprint who told me that there is a massive outage. I have not seen anyone talking about this on here, but was wondering if anyone else is having internet issues with their Hero (through Sprint).

    I have been told by escalation at tech support to take my phone into a Sprint store. :( Wish me luck!!!
     
  14. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    Nvm
     
  15. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    This is cetainly strange. Good luck, and let us know!
     
  16. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    I've had no problems in Ohio.
     
  17. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    They will probably tell you to do a hard reset and give the phone back to you, lol:p
     
  18. Xandria

    Xandria Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ok!! So, on my way to the Sprint store, I decided to power my phone on and off one last time, just to see if there was any way I could avoid going to the Sprint Store!!

    What do you know.... after 3 days of trying everything I could think of it has miraculously fixed itself. WHEW! I can get on line and check email and everything. :)

    I suppose there was an outage in my area, and they have restored service? Regardless, I am once again a happy camper.
     
  19. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Rofl!

    At least it's fixed (knock on wood) :)
     
  20. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Amazing! We like happy campers! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...