SuperOneClick Root -- Anyone try it?


Last Updated:

  1. PSUlion01

    PSUlion01 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3

    Advertisement
    amoeller and ImSpartacus like this.
  2. dave8311

    dave8311 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yep, works great on 2.2 OTA
     
  3. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Does it also unroot? If so, does it only unroot phones rooted by this way or by the Droid 2 root method too?
     
  4. PSUlion01

    PSUlion01 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Also curious about this as I'd like to know I can fully unroot if necessary.
     
  5. mchung53

    mchung53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    20
    mxsjw likes this.
  6. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    ^ Let us know please
     
  7. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Very tempted to try it myself. Not sure why everything is working on my phone just fine.
     
  8. Dark Matter

    Dark Matter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    41
    Ive tried..works great.
     
    mchung53 likes this.
  9. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    Wow! That was too easy, by the way...I'm running the OTA 2.2 Froyo and finally spit out the pacifier and rooted for the first time ever. :D Now the fun begins.
     
  10. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    468
    God I wish that would have been out when I rooted. I think I spent a total of about 5 hours getting my phone rooted. But I sure felt a huge sense of accomplishment when the little ninja dude showed up on my phone asking for Superuser permission the very first time.

    Oh well, I'm still happy they came out with an easier way. I just hope when 3.0 rolls around that they figure out how to 1-click root faster than it took them this time. I remember when 2.2 came out how many people said they would hold off on upgrading until they figured out how to root it. At that time I had never rooted my phone so I didn't know what the big deal was. I thought, "why in the world would you wait"???

    Lol, well let's just say I'm enlightened now. When 3.0 rolls out I will be one of those people holding off on doing it until there is confirmation that rooting is possible. It just wouldn't be worth loosing all the cool ass root features of this phone, I don't care how great gingerbread is. All I've heard about it so far anyway is that it's going to have an all new UI, and they're going to concentrate on the gaming abilities of the phone... those are two things I can wait around for a few weeks/months if need be before upgrading. It's not like when I had 2.1 and the promise of a more efficient OS surrounded 2.2. I simply could not wait until they finally released it.

    And as many people who have said they hate froyo and wish they could roll back to 2.1, I'm definately not in that boat at all. I have been enjoying every bite of my froyo. Very much worth the few initial bugs I had to iron out of it (it took formatting my SD card before everything fell into place) in the beginning.

    Froyo + root = nirvana!!!
     
  11. mxsjw

    mxsjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    171
    Ninja? I got a Pirate..how do I get the Ninja? Better yet, is there a Zombie?:D
     
  12. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    The ninja is old version. If you get the pirate one it is upgradeable via the market.
     
  13. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Is there any downside to doing this? Why do you need to be able to unrooot?
     
  14. tom108

    tom108 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,672
    Likes Received:
    309
    no need really now. if you have to turn your phone in you can just sbf to 2.2 and root will be gone.
     
    dhoffman1421 and cashX3r0 like this.
  15. rezajune

    rezajune Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    can't root and I tried again with this method.

    Killing ADB Server...

    OK

    Starting ADB Server...
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *

    OK

    Waiting for device...

    what am I doing wrong,..I am following all the steps exactly.
     
  16. madzozs

    madzozs Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it hangs on waiting for device, reboot the phone and it should work. Worked for me no problem.
     
  17. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    Make sure to grant it root access, its best to go to settings, application, check screen on while charging so you don't miss the prompt to give it access.
     
  18. wswenson

    wswenson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am having the same issues as rezajune, i have not seen any thing asking me to give root access.
     
  19. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Had to reboot the phone a couple times during the process to get it to proceed but it worked!

    So what to do now? LOL!
     
  20. Odogxb

    Odogxb Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a error message and then this when i try to one click root, I have Net framework 3.0 i have all of the driver, I have unmounted my SD card and have USB Debugging Check


    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception: The system cannot find the file specified
    at System.Diagnostics.Process.StartWithCreateProcess(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
    at RageAgainstTheCageGUI.Form1.runCommand(String arguments)
    at RageAgainstTheCageGUI.Form1.runOperationUI(String description, String arguments)
    at RageAgainstTheCageGUI.Form1.btnRoot_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4206 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SuperOneClick
    Assembly Version: 1.3.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.3.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Owner/Desktop/SuperOneClick.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4016 (NetFxQFE.050727-4000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4205 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4016 (NetFxQFE.050727-4000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
     
  21. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    And make sure you run it as an admin. If you don't it will look like it is working but sit there forever. (don't ask me how I know)
     
  22. amoeller

    amoeller Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    18
    I just used the 2.2 SBF and this program worked great. By far the nicest way to root.
     
  23. KevTN

    KevTN Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a couple of questions. I downloaded the motorola drivers, and the root program last night. Do I need put them in seperate directories or in the same one. Also when I ran the update program some other program popped up and said my 20 of my drivers were not up to date and then wanted me to pay to complete. I deleted everything and ran my virus detector. nothing found but that kinda threw me. I am wanting to root but a bit nervous. I would like to tether without having to being raped for another 20 bucks a month.

    thanks
     
  24. eulerphi8

    eulerphi8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    21
    By the way guys, version 1.6 and above of SuperOneClick doesn't include busybox, which is necessary for a lot of root programs (such a Titanium Backup). An easy way to install it is to search for "BusyBox" from the market. It'll install it right from your phone as long as you have root. Worked well for me.
     
  25. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Looks like he added a new version today with Unroot capabilities.
     

Share This Page

Loading...