1. 2015 is going to be a great year for Android! Why wait??
    Samsung Galaxy Note 5 | Samsung Galaxy S6 | HTC One M9
  2. New Forum Created: Samsung Gear VR!

SuperOneClick says I'm rooted but I have no superuser app

1. jbhumph

jbhumph Well-Known Member

Ok so I'm new to this rooting thing. I rooted my phone yesterday and superoneclick worked flawlessly. I then downloaded bootstrap and tried to deodex it. Seemed to be ok but I must've messed something up cause it got stuck trying to reboot itself at the eye. I took the steps to unbrick my phone and I was back up and running again. Whew!

I didn't play around with it anymore yesterday but was going to attempt again today. I noticed the superuser app was missing which I assumed made sense because I would guess unbricking it would also remove root. I tried superoneclick again to root and it says I'm rooted. Seemed easy enough. I go to look for the superuser app though and it isn't there. I try to reboot my recovery of the backup I made with bootstrap thinking that should have saved my root access but it won't take me into recovery. I can't use drocap2 and without the superuser app I'm assuming I'm not actually rooted. I know that is a necessity.

What am I doing wrong?

Advertisement
    :
  2. mxsjw

mxsjw Well-Known Member

Do you have Terminal Emulator installed?

If so, type su and hit return. If the $ changes to a # you are rooted, if not you are not and need to try again.
  3. jbhumph

I see two terminal emulators in market...which one would you recommend?

I am trying to re-root but superoneclick just says "device is rooted" after it checks the device. Do I need to unroot to root again? And how would I unroot?
  4. mxsjw

mxsjw Well-Known Member

jbhumph likes this.
  5. jbhumph

Thank you! I will have to try the new root :)
  6. jbhumph

Ok still confused. I have, according to superoneclick, rooted, unrooted, rooted again, etc...but still can never get the superuser app to appear....:confused:
  7. Outlaw71