"suspend" processSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mcsnee

    mcsnee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, all--

    I hope this hasn't been talked to death in here. I noticed a weird battery drain on my EVO over the last week or so. I've got the System Panel app, and it appears there's an internal process called "suspend" that is running the CPU at 50%-60% while the phone's supposed to be asleep.

    I have the un-updated facebook app, and it doesn't have any login information anyway. The problem started occurring around the time I installed Pandora; have there been any reports of problems with that app? Alternatively, does anybody know what might be causing that process to chew CPU cycles?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. lillygirl7

    lillygirl7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    28
    You know I was wondering if pandora was sucking up my juice. I noticed my battery draining faster after I downloaded Pandora and couple other apps that I have uninstalled. I just uninstall Pandora too. I'll let you know if I notice a difference.
     
  3. Lokire

    Lokire Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just noticed this today too...any ideas?
     
  4. senormatt

    senormatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    80
    I had this today. Battery drained real quick. I don't use Pandora. Restarted the phone and think it's back to normal.
     
  5. Lokire

    Lokire Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    8
    I restarted the phone and it was back to normal for a few hours, but then started the 'suspend' process eating up battery again. Sucks because I used to get 15-20 hours on the standard battery, and now I'm only getting about 15 hours with the Seidio extended 3500 battery :(
     
  6. jsmevo

    jsmevo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been trying to figure this out since Froyo and I think I finally found the solution. Well, so far anyway, for the last 3 days I haven't had the dreaded "suspend" running uncontrolled in the background.

    What I found is that almost everyone this occurs with, seems to have the System Panel app, so I thought this was a good place to start. I basically just went into settings and deselected the High Priority setting in the Monitoring Settings. When it's selected, it prevents service shutdown of the app. So far, since I've deselected this, I haven't had the suspend process running continuously in the background.

    Try it out on your end and see if this helps.
     
  7. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    Thanks, man! I just disabled the High Priority setting. I'll let you know if "suspend" runs away on me.
     
  8. eagle63

    eagle63 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, glad I found this thread as I'm having the same problem too. A little background:
    I'm pretty religious about monitoring my battery usage to find out how much juice my phone typically uses while idle. For me and how I have my Evo setup, I lose about 1.5% battery per hour while idle. (By "idle" I mean not acutally using it, though I may still get a few emails and/or text mesages pushed to the phone)

    Ever since loading up Froyo, I have had occasions where my idle battery usage jumps up to around 10%/hour consistently - and remains that way until I reboot the phone. I finally ended up buying the System Panel app as a way to uncover what might be happening when one of these "episodes" happens again. Low and behold, it started happening yesterday. So... I fully charged my Evo, started the active monitoring feature in System Panel, and let my Evo run overnight on battery power. This morning I looked at the data in System Panel and discovered - like many of you - that there was some "suspend" process that was going wild and chewing up a lot of CPU.

    So to jsmevo, I don't think System Panel is actually causing this problem since I was having it before I ever bought that app. (plus I never run have it in "monitor" mode unless the battery drain problem starts happening)

    Has anyone tried killing the Suspend process or found any way of fixing this problem without rebooting?
     
  9. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    All I can say is, I disabled the High Priority option in System Panel, and I haven't had the issue since.
     
  10. eagle63

    eagle63 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's some additional data points after experimenting:
    Before rebooting, I charged up my Evo (again) and started System Panel monitoring with the high priority settings disabled. The result was exactly the same as with it enabled: the suspend process was sky-high in CPU usage relative to everything else. I then rebooted which fixes the problem (at least until it happens again). After the reboot, I ran System Panel monitoring both with high-priority enabled as well as disabled, and the result was the same: the suspend process showed up in the list of processes using CPU time, but it was like .4% and right in line with all the other Android system processes.

    So based on all this, my conclusions are:
    1. This suspend process is clearly the root cause of the abnormal battery usage.
    2. System Panel has nothing to do with it. (it's not causing the suspend process to go crazy)

    So even though it's nice to have seemingly identified the culprit, we still don't know what the underlying problem is. Is there a place to post bug reports or get more information on low-level Android stuff like this? Does Google have support mechanisms for Android? (they must but I haven't found it yet...)
     
  11. mcsnee

    mcsnee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Echoing eagle63: No dice on disabling high priority. Suspend has apparently been running at 40% on my phone for the last couple of hours... had 85%+ battery before starting my last class, now into the yellow.
     
  12. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    Yes, I too can confirm that SystemPanel is *NOT* the issue here. I have High Priority disabled, but my suspend process has taken 25m of the last 2 hours at 100% CPU usage.

    What's the next step? I can't find a way to kill the process without rebooting.
     
  13. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    BUMP!

    Besides rooting and reflashing, is there a way out of this problem?
     
  14. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    Funny you guys mention this because I noticed yesterday that Pandora is hanging when I exit and running my battery way down and making the phone really hot. I uninstalled and reinstalled, we'll see if that helps. Also installed task killer so i can kill it manually if necessary.
     
  15. eagle63

    eagle63 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish I knew of something we could do. My only thought is to find a Google group for "official" Android dev support and try there. Going through the normal Sprint or HTC support channels will be utterly useless. I'm on the verge of rooting and trying a 3rd party ROM (not specifically because of this issue) and if I find a ROM that fixes this problem I'll definitely report back here. The problem is that this suspend process seems to be part of the base Android build, and not a manufacturer or carrier installed thing. Still, that's not to say that it couldn't be triggered by a 3rd party app, or Sense, or something like that.

    We could all report the apps we routinely use and compare notes to see if we can find a common factor that might be causing this, although that can often lead to a wild goose chase. I really don't think Pandora is the cause. Even though I do have Pandora installed, I haven't used it in weeks and I've had the suspend problem at least 3 times since then. One app I started using recently is Timerriffic, which is an app that automatically changes your profile based on times of the day. Anyone else use that?
     
  16. mcsnee

    mcsnee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anybody who doesn't have Pandora installed having the problem? I ask because there are almost always apps running in the background that I never started—both the obnoxious ROM apps and ones I've downloaded separately. I assume that these have some kind of timer that makes them power up to check for updates or something, or that for some reason, opening other apps triggers them. Perhaps Pandora has some scheduled uplink that causes this hiccup?

    In any case, I'm not using Pandora regularly; I'll uninstall it and see if that makes any difference.

    (And no, I don't have Timerriffic.)
     
  17. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    The uninstall/reinstall seemed to help. I think it was actually the Pandora widget that was causing the hang. As long as I exit the program by going into it and pressing MENU --> QUIT I don't seem to have any issues.
     
  18. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Pandora is know to have a plethora of issues already... among crap audio issues, to, in some cases, use 100% CPU...

    I don't trust it when I actually use it once in a maroon moon.... I make it force of habit to end Pandora when I'm done with it. I have yet to have any issues with it going rogue on me, but only because I kill it when I'm completely through with it.
     
  19. eagle63

    eagle63 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. esone1ll

    esone1ll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    105
    I just added myself to the Google Code entry.

    I also uninstalled Pandora, just to be sure.
     
  21. eagle63

    eagle63 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: I decided to try another approach before removing Pandora. I was looking around in my settings and noticed that for some reason I was syncing my friend stream in "Twitter for HTC Sense". (settings --> Accounts & Sync --> Twitter for HTC Sense --> Sync Friend) I'm not really sure why/how this was enabled, but I disabled it. I'm now at 6 1/2 days of uptime with no problems. Typically I don't make it past a week before the dreaded suspend bug pops up, so this is very encouraging.

    Anyway, not proof of anything yet but I thought I'd throw it out there to see if any of you guys have the same thing enabled and might want to try disabling it.
     
  22. brian.kyncl

    brian.kyncl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue, too.

    No Pandora for me, SystemPanel was never high priority, and I'm running the HD-Legend ROM on my Eris.

    I did have Peep sync enabled and just disabled it so we'll see how that goes.

    I hope we can figure this out!
     
  23. brian.kyncl

    brian.kyncl New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This didn't fix things for me :-(
     
  24. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yup, same here. As long as I manually QUIT when I'm done, I have no issues. I don't even keep task killer in memory, since it uses memory itself. I only open it if I need to kill something like Pandora. :rolleyes:
     
  25. mcsnee

    mcsnee Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, since uninstalling Pandora last week, I don't think this bug has recurred on my phone. I wonder if there are a class of system calls that some apps are using that might cause this...
     

Share This Page

Loading...