swap back key on hero ?


Last Updated:

  1. seagull

    seagull Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I have had my hero since Jan and love the android os . The hero is the best phone I have had and I have had a few HTC smart phones with winmo and HTC sense with Android is streets ahead.

    BUT ..... this phone is only designed for left handed users ?... I find with my RH that I have to almost drop the phone to use the back key. For a function that is needed so often HTC should have put it easy to reach with either hand.


    Does anyone know how the key can be swapped say with the answer key ( which I never use) or if there is a way to have a touch screen back key.

    Thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    If you root youe phone you can get apps to swap keys around
     
    seagull likes this.
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    I just found one called Herokey (Root) that sounds like it would do that, but it doesn't believe I have root for some reason.
     
    seagull likes this.
  4. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Not sure if Herokey works on 2.1 roms..

    Love the Sig btw Xtiro
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    Yeah I got the impression it only works on hero 1.5 GSM phones, nothing else (not even stock android/sprint hero), when I read the marketplace description.

    Thanks :) I got bored of telling people there was a sprint forum :p
     
  6. seagull

    seagull Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh i'm not sure if i am up for rooting .. having used the warranty on older htc devices and i would worry about getting stuck with a long contract and a brick.

    also sounds like 2.1 does not give this functionality either.

    i'm off to read about rooting

    thanks

    wish there was an app that worked on all heros/androids
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    Rooting the firmware already on your phone would not risk bricking the phone :) And installing one of the official firmware releases would undo the rooting. (So the only risk is a unrelated hardware failure that prevents you from reinstalling should you have to send it to htc).

    Just to point your mind at ease.
     

Share This Page

Loading...