Swapping phone, app dilemma.


Last Updated:

  1. MH75

    MH75 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a quick one.

    I'm getting a new Desire(Orange is swapping it with a new one) should I just do a factory reset on the old phone before I hand it over and what will happen to the apps that I have bought?

    Will they just be in my google account when I log in with the new phone or do I have to do something first?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    I was in a similar situation last night. T-Mobile are doing a doorstep exchange of my Desire today.

    I did a factory reset and formatted the SD card (to wipe my back up files) before packing it back up.

    Sorry, but I can't comment about the apps etc. I didn't install any before realising I needed to swap my handset.
     
  3. DesireMe

    DesireMe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    78
    It says when you uninstall apps, that you can re-install without any cost. That's what is said on some of my apps, but i've only installed free ones, but i'm presuming it's the same.
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    The apps you have bought are linked to your google account. So you can redownland those apps on any phone you use the same gmail account.

    I highly recommend hard resetting before handing the phone back.
     
  5. MH75

    MH75 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent info thanks.

    How do i perform a hard reset?
    Thanks.
     
  6. mcapozzi

    mcapozzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    35
    To wipe the phone, Menu -> Settings -> Privacy -> Factory data reset.

    -Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...