1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Swapping phones and all my infoTips


Last Updated:

  1. buckhead

    buckhead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey everyone, i have a Triumph that VM sent me to replace my other Triumph with broken glass. I need to get on their website and swap phones now but was wondering how much info automatically gets swapped through my Google account and how much i will actually have to manually put in myself?

    Will my contact info and phone #'s be transferred too?

    I think all my apps will automatically transfer themselves through Google, right?

    Anything else you can think of?
     

    Advertisement
  2. goshjosh

    goshjosh Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    37
    If you set it up I think you can also get your calendar to sync too.
     
  3. Rcarnes91

    Rcarnes91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    32
    Phone numbers will come in automatically, you have to go to the play store and download the apps you want again (just hit the menu button and click on my apps) unless you had a backup of your old phone
     
  4. SeanErdrich

    SeanErdrich Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Once you sign in on your phone, you can go to the Google Play site on your computer, and click on 'My Apps', then click 'Install' for each app. It's repetitive, but it goes by much quicker than trying to do it on your phone. You'll want to make sure your phone is connected to a wifi network though, otherwise it'll eat up your data.

    I've had to go through the replacement phone process a couple of times, and found this method to be the quickest. If it were running ICS, it'd automatically re-install all the apps itself.

    Good luck!
     
  5. buckhead

    buckhead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    On the Google play site, all of my apps already say installed, but they are not yet installed on the new phone.
     
  6. SeanErdrich

    SeanErdrich Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    You may need to open the Market App on your new phone and log in, then let it update to Google Play... I've never had that issue before though.
     
  7. rcsrich

    rcsrich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    119
    I think I've seen that happen when I switch ROMs that cause the MT to show up as a different device (maybe a different/modified build.prop?). I started using Titanium Backup early on with the MT, so I never really would restore from the Play store anyway. I can remember times when I'd have several profiles for a device listed (seemed to happen a lot with my rooted Nook Color), but lately Play seems to be smarter.
     

Share This Page

Loading...