Switch from Gingerbread to FroyoGeneral

Last Updated:

1. mach101

mach101 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Hi all,
    First of all I am completely new to Android, and I want to downgrade to Froyo, to test the performance of Froyo to see whether it is better choice for my Samsung Galaxy Gio.
    Also I have seen on Google that there is a new update version 2.3.4, but Kies do not update this for me.

Hope someone can tell how to downgrade.

thanks in advance

Advertisement
  2. karandpr

karandpr Well-Known Member

Welcome to android Forums

You will need to learn how to use Download Mode and how to flash a phone via odin
    Both the tutorial
    (Flash Guide) and the Froyo firmware are available here

You have to register your account there to download firmwares and guides

Gio is GT-S5660

Personally speaking ,Gingerbread is more CPU optimized than Froyo since I own a similar device with same class processor (ARM11v6Vfp) and GB is a better choice than Froyo .

Note that Changing from Froyo to Gingerbread or vice versa includes flashing the Bootloader files .

If the files are corrupted or the USB connection or the USB port is faulty ,you have 30 p.c chance of totally bricking the phone .

Also you may need a firmware with the bootloader files or else Froyo wont work on gingerbread bootloader

Finally If you are completely new to android than I will suggest skipping the "downgrade" process since it has risks not worth the time (even more than rooting the phone )

3. mach101

Thanks for the reply Karandpr.
    It sounds that it is not so easy as I thought it to be. The reason I want to downgrade is because I have read at some forums that people mentioned they had better battery life when Froyo was installed. I experience that the battery consumes quite fast with regard to my usage.

I also have an iPhone 4 and so I am not that new to smartphones, but this is my first Android, and I can easily see the difference between these two phones battery performances.