Switched to Sprint for the Evo, what's a good backup?


Last Updated:

  1. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    Well I made the switch a couple weeks ago to Sprint so that I can get the Evo. I got a Hero at Best Buy so I could have something to use until I exchange it for the Evo. Up until now I've pretty much been a big GSM user. I've had T-Mobile and AT&T. I unlock all my phones, so any time anything happened with my smartphone, I always had a reliable feature phone to fall back on. I also would switch my sim card to one of these if I was going somewhere potentially hazardous to my beloved smartphone of the month, ie fishing boat, ATV'ing, etc.

    My question is, what is a good/reliable and relatively cheap feature phone I can buy to have as a backup for my Evo. I rely on my phone for a lot, and not having a sim card and extra phones kinda freaks me out. I need to know I have something in the drawer that could bail me out if something goes wrong. Any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jay2thab

    jay2thab Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    7
    my vote would be for the pre or the pixi... i am leaving my pre for the evo and my son is picking it up and dumping his treo 800.. id say cheap go with pixi.. no moving parts candy bar style.. decent features..
     
  3. ShadowDrake

    ShadowDrake Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just pick up a prepaid and leave it around unactivated. Sprint charges $18 to switch phones on your line - each way.
     
  4. iamfunkyz

    iamfunkyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    19
    I'm not sure that's true. I dropped my centro in the shitter. I bought a samsung instinct on ebay to replace it. I switched it over using sprint's website and it was completely free. Only took about 10 minutes.


    EDIT: www.sprint.com/activate

    Like I said, it was free and quick.
     
  5. tracerit

    tracerit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    42
    i've never been charged a fee to switch phones. during my 2 year contract that i started with the Mogul, i switched to the Diamond then Touch Pro and never got a fee.
     
  6. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    if you want a dumbphone why dont you go in sprint store and fiddle with some of those cheap ones, might find a good rugged one thatll do exactly what you want
     
  7. ShadowDrake

    ShadowDrake Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Good to know. My last experience was in the Touch Pro (1) days where I had a replacement every three weeks and had a charge for $18 show up every time I had to activate my new one. I had to call in and ask that the charge be removed. I'm a premiere customer... It's been like 8 months since I got the TP2 though and no replacements so far.
     
  8. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    Whew I was gonna say if I get charged for just switching phones that I already own then my relationship with Sprint would be short lived.
     
  9. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    $18 is the activation fee for new phones for a premier customer ($36 otherwise)

    if your phone has already been activated before (ever) then there is no fee. Ive switched between my pre and tp2 around 30 sumthin times in the last 2 months or so, about every other day
     
  10. ImmaSlave4U

    ImmaSlave4U Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    43
    $36 - Activation fee for new customers.

    $18 - Upgrade fee for non-Premier customers.

    Sprint | Premier customers pay no upgrade fees.
     
  11. newone757

    newone757 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    134
    thanks for the correction.
     
  12. ashykat

    ashykat Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    127
    So, if I were to buy a dumbphone at full price (which would be my only option aside from ebay/craigslist) and then activated it I would still be charged an "upgrade" fee?
     

Share This Page

Loading...