1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Switching between applicationsTips


Last Updated:

  1. Asterdroid

    Asterdroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    Not sure if this has been posted yet, and I don't know if this is one of those "duh" functions that everyone but me knew about, but here's a (hopefully) helpful tidbit.

    If you hold down the home button, a folder pops up containing all active applications. You can very easily switch back and forth between open apps this way.

    I have been using this function to switch between my calorie counter and weight watchers diary since neither have all the functionality I need at the moment.

    Hope that helps some folks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Duh. ;)
     
  3. Mischka7

    Mischka7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is that popup a list of all active applications, or most recently used applications? I ask because I exited out of Navigation, but it still showed up on that applications list. When I clicked on the application, it opened up as if it had been closed.
     
  4. coolbone

    coolbone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    85
    Most recently used
     
  5. cp1

    cp1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yeah it seems to be the 6 last apps you used.
     
  6. zenman

    zenman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    81
    Awesome tip, thanks.
     
  7. Lars

    Lars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    210
    Hold down the back button in the browser for history.
     
    Richiebob2 and necosino like this.
  8. opes

    opes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    4
    WOW I am a moron. I was always wondering how to do that.
     
  9. Asterdroid

    Asterdroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    458
    Another helpful tip related to this. It's not just most recently used. If you are trying to work in two applications at once, you can do this from within the application to bring up another application instead of exiting out of it, and when you switch back it will be exactly where you left off. Great for copying and pasting between applications. :)
     
  10. Echo17121

    Echo17121 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7
    Oh man total duh moment for me! Lol I knew there was a way to do do this on the droid but I thought maybe that was a Motorola thing! Thanks so much!
     
  11. pcayabyab

    pcayabyab Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    24
    Is this only relevant to the last 6 most recently used/open applications, or is there a way to switch back and forth from 7+ open applications without having to go back to the home screen?
     
  12. confluence

    confluence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    58
    that thing opens a pop up of the last 6 applications the user has opened. it will not show apps that were open by another app.

    it is not a list of active applications that are running in the background or the are cached in the RAM.
     
  13. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
    If you install "Advanced Task Killer" you can go to settings and change the "Default Click Action" to "Switch between applications." This is what I have been doing since I rarely kill apps.
     
  14. punkrocker27ka

    punkrocker27ka Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    that was a very helpful tip. it saves me so much time! thank you.
     
  15. winterwar

    winterwar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very helpful tips. Thanks!
     
  16. AndroidQT

    AndroidQT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tip! I love my Android!!!
     
  17. mikeflht

    mikeflht New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have only had my dinc two days and loving it! This tip is great, it was one of those things that was frustrating me a bit - not knowing if there was a way to switch back and forth between two opened apps. But it brings up another question. How can you ensure that you've closed an application? For instance on facebook, I leave the application, but when I return, it appears to have remained open - it's in exactly the same place as when I left.

    My only concern about this is that I'm assuming I'm burning battery time if I leave several apps hanging open.
     
  18. drdoom

    drdoom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    183
    Leave them running; Android is designed to keep apps in memory as long as it can or until it needs the resources for the app that is in the foreground (directly being used). In fact, completely killing apps that you use often will drain more battery; keeping the RAM full doesn't impact battery, but reloading an app completely does.
     
  19. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    qball1525 likes this.
  20. euph_22

    euph_22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,634
    Likes Received:
    595
    Bad assumption. Almost any app "running" in the background isn't using CPU or Network. It's just sitting in the RAM, which as drdoom said doesn't use any battery (well, full RAM doesn't use any more battery than empty).
     

Share This Page

Loading...