Switching from googlemail to gmail?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,

    Google are asking me if I want to change my address to the shorter gmail,com one, from googlemail.com.

    Currently, I receive emails sent to either, although my official address is the longer one.

    If I change to gmail, will my gmail app still work, or will I need to create a new account in the app for the shorter address?

    Thanks! :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. stringent

    stringent Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    There was an issue with he GTalk application not working if you switched. Also the current thought is if you want to go to GMail, you will have to reset your phone and build the account back up again from scratch.
     
  3. DrSuave

    DrSuave Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I switched mine over 2 days after getting my phone, so it was ok to do a factory reset.
     
  4. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for that. :)

    I actually took the bull by the horns and swtiched.... and you're right, I couldn't delete the old account on the phone.

    However, even though I switched, my gmail app still received emails sent to the new shorter address, even though it's signed in as googlemail.com.

    Anyway, I changed my address back - to keep my phone and web in line.

    Anyhow, people can still send emails to the shorter address so I don't really know what the advantage of swapping is.

    Google are trying to say that the change makes the address quicker to type, but as I said, you can already use the short address without switching.
     
  5. simmouk

    simmouk Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    One thing to check is, once you have changed, that you can sign into Gtalk and more importantly, you can download from the Market!
     
  6. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    I actually don't know what gtalk is :eek: (I know I should) but good point about the market.

    I don't think the change is worth the hassle.

    I changed, and then changed back and all seems to be working which is good.

    If it ain't broke, don't fix it!
     
  7. DrSuave

    DrSuave Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    had no probs since the change
     
  8. DrSuave

    DrSuave Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah was annoying
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Had a thought on this.

    I'm sure when I changed the Mrs' google password, the phone asked her to confirm her user details again including googlemail username.

    Wondering if this would work to change the default to gmail?

    The only other way requires root access:
    http://androidforums.com/332434-post1.html
     
  10. stewcp

    stewcp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    EDIT: here's how to change your primary google account and keep everything happy without wiping your phone!

    Credit to someone else... not me!

    If you want to change your primary gmail account for Gmail, its much easier.
    Don not hard reset means set to factory defaults , by erasing all data and application , instead go to
    1. Settings -> Applications ->Manage Applications ->
    Here you have to "Clear Data" from
    1. Gmail
    2. Gmail Storage
    3. Gppgle Apps
    4. Google talk and Talk services
    5. and IM. (Would be rare to have this showing unless you are using Google IM)
    clearing data is much simple just click on aplication and clear data.
    "
    the Dev also warns that Google Storage will want to keep filling up so do that one last before exiting Manage Applications section.
    Then, of course, you must regularly restart your phone, when it comes back, you will need to enter your new chose gmail, then follow the instructions. You also should do a *228, 2 for OTA, but may not be needed. What may be needed is having to do a *228 , 9 (as previously instrcted at any Verizon Store when you bought the phone in the first place).
    This method of changing the an Android devices primary gmail account actually works. So let's all stop the goddamn FUD that we can't change the primary email AND LET CUSTOMERS KNOW and/or right a batch file with a shortcut in Manage Applications so that we can just stop all this bickering. Now this next part is probably why Google, Android Market, Verizon employees, Motorola CS employees are all saying "it can't be done", is probably due to the next relatively complex procedure:
    The apps PURCHASED need only be re-registered, but in order to NOT Download and pay for them again, you will have to remove your CC from the old gmail/Google Checkout and use it in Google Checkout with the NEW gmail you have chosen for your new Droid primary - sure beats re-DLing and installing all those apps. Unfortunately the CC has to be the SAME CC you used on the old gmail account otherwise you ARE stuck with re-purchasing the apps from the Market using the NEW gmail you have chosen along with the different CC/Google Checkout.
     
  11. gezh

    gezh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi. I've just followed these instructions, but it's for my Hero, not Desire.

    It's worked in so far as the old Googlemail account has cleared, but now I don't seem to be able to sign in with my new Gmail account. The data returned is:

    "This could be a temporary problem or your SIM card may not be provisioned for data services. If it continues, call Customer Care".

    Any ideas?
     
  12. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Check your date and time are right and disable auto time update.
     
  13. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just went onto my calendar on the phone and it was completely blank. Not happy.

    So I logged onto my Google calendar using the browser and it was blank there too.

    I noticed at the bottom of the screen it gave my email as gmail.com even though I have switched back to googlemail which I can conform by logging into my mail online.

    However, by fiddling around I managed to find my appointments and above each appointment it mentioned the correct googlemail address. I'm not sure what was going on, it seemed if I selected a day from the month view it was blank but if I logged out and in again and stayed in day view and scrolled through the days from there the appointments were there.

    Then, In my calendar on the phone I removed the google mail calendar, leaving just the off line and pc sync ones, and then added it back again. Luckily this worked.

    The online one now also shows everything however it still shows my address as gmail.com at the bottom of the screen.

    All very odd........!
     
  14. gezh

    gezh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nope, looks like I'm going to do a factory reset :-(

    I've backed everything up. The only things I can't find are small images that I have set for my contacts. They're not on the SIM, and they're nowhere to be found on the SDCard. Anyone know where they are, or am I resigned to losing them?
     
  15. cunning plan

    cunning plan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    Guys, when you switch to gmail instead of Googlemail you always have the option in the accounts settings in Gmail to switch back (full Gmail, not on your phone).

    I realised that it wasn't letting me use the new Gmail details without doing a factory reset, so I just went back to Gmail > Accounts > Change back to GoogleMail - rebooted the phone and it was all working again.

    Until Google fix this properly - I don't think it is worth messing about with. It doesn't really matter if people send email to you at gmail or googlemail - they will both work and get to you. It is far more important for your phone to work, so until Google sort it, leave it as Googlemail.com. Unless you have just got your phone and don't mind a factory reset.
     
  16. Marl

    Marl New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know why I can't change back to googlemail.com?

    I've looked on the web under Settings - Accounts and Imports in the "send mail as" section, but I just don't get the option...
     
  17. GStadium

    GStadium Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would advise Android phone users NOT to switch from Googlemail.com to Gmail.com. I did and had the problem reported by hundreds (possibly thousands) of users - that is, I could no longer download from Android Market and Google Talk (which I didn't use on its own, but on which the market depends) failed to authenticate.

    If the phone gave you a way to amend the authentication details this wouldn't be a problem. As it is, Google needs to fix it - and doesn't seem in any hurry to do so. Deleting cached and saved data didn't work for me, even after rebooting the phone. The only way I was able to get round the problem was by switching my account back to Googlemail.com.
     
  18. Chef_uk

    Chef_uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is is still relevant? Just wondered if Google had addressed (no pun intended) the issue or not.
     
  19. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Easy way, although time consuming - reset your phone and start again with the @gmail.com version of your address...job done, but it does mean you have to set everything up again
     
  20. Chef_uk

    Chef_uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok thanks, think i'll leave it then. Lived with it for this long so can manage :)
     
  21. GrenW

    GrenW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    130

    Only real way to sort it. Ended up doing this myself. MyBackup Pro made things much easier though.
     
  22. OppfinnarJocke

    OppfinnarJocke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well... it didn't work for me... I only have the gmail app installed, and clearing its data and re-starting the Desire achieved nothing. It's still using that old account I'm using for anti-spam... If I had known from the start why I had to select a gmail account when setting up the phone, I wouldn't have chosen that particular account, but there was no info about that... This is starting to tick me off... Such a simple thing, change the default account, and it can't be done without resetting the whole phone. What were they thinking...?
     
  23. gd123

    gd123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has this problem ever been fixed - I'd quite like to change my googlemail to gmail, but have never doen it due to the reported issuses - been a year now?
     
  24. GrenW

    GrenW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    130
    Not fixed properly. On the Google forums there was a solution that involved changing and leaving it 24hrs!! Seemed to work but left behind traces of the old googlemail account on the phone. Get the trial for MyBackup and just factory reset the phone. Most things restore nicely and it'll probably only take around 30 minutes. May even clear your phone out and speed it up a bit.
     
  25. Tyseyh

    Tyseyh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Likes Received:
    296
    A lot of people have had issues with the market, this is defo one thing you should check!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...