Switching from iPhone 3GS to N1


Last Updated:

  1. qcom

    qcom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello everyone, after posting that previous new thread, with the tons of replies xD I have decided to switch to the N1 from an iPhone 3GS.

    I decided to make a new thread because I think I recall some people posting that they switched from their iPhones and don't regret it at all, but I'd like to know the process.


    I know I have to buy the unlocked version, because I'm going to stick with ATT for a while, because I'm on a CORPORATE account.

    Next, once I purchase the unlocked phone (https://www.google.com/phone/choose?hl=en&gl=US&s7e=) ($529.00 oh boy..) I don't need a contract do I, is that the purpose of an unlocked phone?

    Then, would I just remove the SIM card from my 3GS and insert it into the N1? Or, would I need to talk to ATT and bring the two phones to the store and have them do it?

    Also, remember, I'm a member of a CORPORATE account, just emphasizing because I think it may affect the process a bit..
     

    Advertisement
  2. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    All of the Nexus One phones are unlocked. You don't need a contract because the carrier is not subsidizing the cost of the phone (justification for cotnract) as you're buying the phone from Google.

    Yes basically :p Not very hard to do!
     
    qcom likes this.
  3. mam4983

    mam4983 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I also just switched from an iPhone 3GS to the N1 and I was on a corporate account. Like Roze said, you just swap the SIM...the cool thing is that if you ever want to go slumming again you can put the SIM back in the iPhone for a couple of days and use it again. I haven't had to do that yet...I LOVE THIS PHONE.
     
    qcom likes this.
  4. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Advantage of GSM phones over CDMA ones IMO. Also, if you travel a lot for work (Europe, Asia, Austrailia) you can use your N1 phone :D Just research what carrier in the country you're in have the same radio frequency as your N1, buy a PAYG SIM card and you're good to go!
     
    qcom likes this.
  5. qcom

    qcom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm assuming your talking about all of the N1s sans the T-Mobile one for $179.00? That one isn't unlocked is it, because that would defeat the purpose of the others.

    And don't I need the one that says 3G for ATT?

    Not 3G for T-Mobile?

    Because, remember, I'm staying on ATT..
     
  6. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    I was referring to AT&T when I said that. ALL Nexus One phones are unlocked as you can only buy the phone through Google (Vodaphone is an exception). This will change soon as the Google store will be closing and 'partner retailers' will start carrying the Nexus One. With TMo, you're buying the phone subsidized, thus the $179, but you have to sign a 2 years contract with TMo. Yes, you're on AT&T, you buy the AT&T Nexus One.
     
  7. qcom

    qcom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
    OK, sorry for the sort of dumb questions, but I just don't want to be charged for anything that I shouldn't or couldn't be charged for.

    Alright, that about settles it then xD

    Oh, you know the "create-a-hotspot" feature in Froyo? Does that cost any extra on your contract or what?
     
  8. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    264

    At&t offers an international data plan that you can purchase. The nice thing about this is that you can have them switch it "off" when you come home if you haven't used all the data. For example I purchased 500MB for a trip I took to europe. I used wifi when I could but when I need directions or information I just switched on my data and used what I needed. At the end of the trip I had like 2 weeks left of that data plan. I called At&t and told them I was home. Now if I go away I can reactivate the plan and use the remaining time/data. For phone calls I just used the phone (I wasn't talking that much) and payed the internation rate At&t gave me.

    Also I came from a corporate account. When you get your phone pop out the sim from your 3GS and just put it into the N1, it will come alive in all it's glory. Also if you don't have a gmail account make sure you set one up to take full advantage of the phone.

    Oh and $179.99 for this phone is just crazy. I think it's worth it at full price, I just no longer want a 2 year contract (I like my technology).
     
  9. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Oh that's nice *_* how much did you pay for 500mb?
     
  10. qcom

    qcom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    5
    OK, thanks.

    When you create a hotspot in Froyo, do you need to pay ATT for extra, or does Google pull through and make it completely free?

    Also, are there any other features like this that force you to pay additional fees per month?
     
  11. zillah

    zillah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    I suppose it depends on your account since ATT just announced that they will be either capping tethered (mobile hotspot) data plans where you have to pay more to use more data or disable tethering (mobile hotspot) on unlimited data plans for smart phones.

    But since the N1 is an off the grid device in the first place, I don't know how it would work out on ATT. Best to call them.

    For T-Mo, all tethering and such goes unrestricted. :D
     
  12. ap3604

    ap3604 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    78
    How much do you pay per month after your corporate discount? Might be still cheaper to go with T-mobile Even More Plus plan...
     
  13. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    264

    Bad typo! 50MB for $49.99 for a month but you can turn it on and off.
     
  14. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Ah...similar to what my carrier is charging, lol..though I don't know about the 'on and off' option...would be amzing if you got 500MB for that price :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...