1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Switching launcher


Last Updated:

  1. myname

    myname Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey there,

    I've got a short question: currently I'm running adw.launcher but I want to try launcher pro ... So my question is: WHen I install launcherpro and set it as default launcher, should I uninstall adw.launcher to have better performance? And if yes, are my settings and homescreens kept when I want to switch back to adw.launcher some time?

    I read about performance issues here somewhere, when adw.launcher with 5 full homescreens is running in background and somewhere, people stated one should remove all widgets from the homescreen before switching to a new launcher.

    what to do?
    thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Buy Titanium Backup Pro and backup ADW.Launcher ... then uninstall it. Install Launcher Pro and play with it. If you don't like it, uninstall it and restore ADW.Launcher.
     
  3. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    no reason to uninstall adw. its not going to effect your performance by anything you will notice.
     
  4. midge37

    midge37 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    Install Home Switcher and then you can just switch between the two without losing any settings.
     
  5. myname

    myname Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Homeswitcher, for what? It keeps them running in the background, so this is not, what I asked for, right?

    I tried mybackup, but after restoring adw.launcher, the settings are completely gone, so probably it's just the apk file which gets backupped and not the settings/screens :(

    titanium backup is no good for me since I'm not root ...
     
  6. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    no, homeswitcher does not keep them running in the background. it just makes it simple t switch between different home apps. it basically goes in and clear the default settings that you have and replaces them with the settings needed to launch the other home.
     
  7. joggy

    joggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    24
    ADW has Backup & Restore in its Settings menu. I've had no issue just using that for restore.
     
  8. myname

    myname Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn it, didn't see that :( But okay, now the screens are already gone ...
     
  9. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    using home switcher keeps the screen settings....
     

Share This Page

Loading...