Switching ROMs


Last Updated:

  1. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    im planning on switching from neophyte 1.6 to WhiteXperience 2.0, and im just wondering what precautions do i need to take?

    should i perform another nandroid backup and then factory reset, wipe everything etc then flash on the new rom?


    cheers :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    anyone?
     
  3. DesirableHTC

    DesirableHTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    First and foremost Pedro, You should always do a nandroid back up (or at least keep a copy of one on your PC, they are quite large in size, if you only have a small SD card) Also a Titanium back up too. i usually only wipe/re-set if the Dev specifies.
    Apart from that, just offer a small prayer to our lord always gets me through!! :D (joke)
     
  4. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    fair enough. only had the one rom installed so far, and i performed a nandroid backup before that.. i'll back up the files to my pc aswell then..

    not too bothered about titanium backup, aslong as i have my contacts backed up, everything else doesnt bother me too much..
     
  5. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    I don't bother with titanium back up as i got no paid apps at the moment, also it saves getting conflicts from some of the backed up data from earlier/different roms.
     
  6. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    no paid apps either..

    im under the impression that WhiteXperience 2.0 comes with setCPU ?
     
  7. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Yes, I went from MoDaCo R8RC1 to DeFRoST 2.9 and I kept getting settings force close when I tried to go into Sound.

    After deleting everything that titanium imported (one of the last on the list actually) I found it was wallpeper settings that was causing the issue.

    I prefer not to wipe because I have a lot of bad luck with titanium, but I think it is still a good idea to use it to restore something just in case.
     
  8. DesirableHTC

    DesirableHTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    11
    while we are on the subject of backing up etc... I would like to know if there is an app that would back up your SMS texts? every time i flash a different rom (probably 1 a week) i lose all my messages....

    Thanks
     
  9. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    not a clue, but maybe you can help me out..

    flashed WhiteXperience this morning with nandroid backup, factory reset, davlik/cache wipes etc. tried to boot up the new rom and it hangs on the pink circular arrow.. i can access clockwork recovery but i can't boot the rom.. don't know whats gone wrong.. halp!:(
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    I paid
     
  11. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    help?
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I don't know the rom you refer to. are you sure it was a full rom and not an update to an existing rom?

    Does it boot without the SD card? reflash via recovery?

    All I can suggest?
     
  13. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Try doing a full wipe & factory reset from the root menu & then reinstall the rom, be aware that some roms take a fair time to boot up first time round.
    (stick on some false nails to chew on) LOL.
    Sometimes i have had to drop the battery out & then restart to get it to boot up first time.
    Failing that just chose a different rom.
     
  14. Pedro7

    Pedro7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    16
    it just wont boot and i don't know why.. flashed defrost 3.0b on and i gotta say that i don't like vanilla android :(

    gonna flash neophyte 1.8 or nextsense 7.0 on i think..
     
  15. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237

    Ok m8, remember keep calm & don't panic you are more than capable of sorting it out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...