Swype and Voice to text on HTC Hero?


Last Updated:

  1. cyberpine

    cyberpine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    2
    Possible to have options for Swype and voice to text in input textboxes on the HTC Hero?

    Will Sprints Hero get Froyo automatically later this month and will Froyo offer Swype and Voice-to-Text in all the popular the input application boxes?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Moved to the Sprint (CDMA) Hero section.
     
  3. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    If Swype has that option, then yes

    I don't believe Sprint or HTC is going to release 2.2 for the Sprint Hero:(

    The only way you may see Froyo/2.2 is if you root your phone;)
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I don't believe it does. Not in the current beta anyway.

    Its one of those features people are always asking about, so I wouldn't be surprised to see it implemented at some point in the future.
     
    andygu3 likes this.
  5. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    I am currently using Swype and voice to text on my hero so, yes, they definately work. I think swype will work as stock, but any of the 2.2 features are going to require you to be rooted, as chances are slim to none that there will be a 2.2 release for the hero
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Was not sure about Swype, as I am using Swiftkey
     
  7. cyberpine

    cyberpine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    2
    Specifically what products did you install? from market? Are you saying both swype and voice-to-text options show up on native email, quick search and web browser text boxes now automatically? Thanks!

    In my house we have an Evo an Epic a Hero and a Captivate (Grandpa under another carrier) .. all very different UI. Samsung's swype is pure genius, but how could they leave off voice-to-text on the Captivate?
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I was referring specifically to the fact Swype has no speech to text button (than I'm aware of), so using both is a bit impractical.
     
  9. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    oohh i see what you mean. yes swype works, yes voice to text works, but no, swype does not appear to have a voice to text on the keyboard.
     
  10. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    Where can you get Swype for the Hero?
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    You have to join the official beta on their website. It's closed at the moment, but I believe you can sign up for an email notification when it reopens.

    Unfortunately any other method of obtaining the .apk is piracy.
     
  12. PattiCakeUS

    PattiCakeUS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    SlideIT is a similar keyboard to the Swype one, you can find it in the market.
     
  13. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Actually, the swype beta is not closed, it just says it is. If you go here,http://beta.swype.com/android/create/ and sign up, you will be sent an email. If it doesn't come through quickly, go back and login to your swype acct. and go to where it says re-send the email. Go to the email from your phone, and follow the link in it and it will walk you through getting swype on your phone. If you have any questions, feel free to post them, as I have become very familiar with the swype thing....
     
  14. jen8112

    jen8112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    34
    I tried. I didn't get the e-mail and when I went back to login and re-send the e-mail my user name and password wouldn't work. Weird.
     
  15. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    Keep trying, sometimes it is a little bit quirky. I had changed a rom yesterday, and had to redownload swype, and it took me five times of putting my password in correctly to get it to work. (I know it shouldn't be that hard, but keep trying!)
     
  16. cyberpine

    cyberpine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will it add the button to email, message and web text box input?
     
  17. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I signed up for the beta via that link you gave (with a spare email account), activated my account, logged in and got this:

     
  18. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    That must be a recent thing. Last I knew, the beta had been opened up indefinitely. Sorry for misleading you guys... Hopefully they open it back up soon, as it is an amazing keyboard app.
     
  19. Joshewah

    Joshewah Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Any of you guys using Swipe ever use ShapeWriter before it was discontinued?

    The only reason I haven't flashed my Hero to 2.2 is because I'm not sure I could go without a swiping keyboard like ShapeWriter and I'm not sure how Swype will perform.

    I know I can nandroid and backup my current rom, but I love my current setup enough that I' not willing to risk it.
     
  20. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    I'm running froyo and swype works great, fwiw. I used shapewriter before swype was open beta, but I find that swype works so much better.
     
  21. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    +1 to 330D

    My wife's phone is running 2.2 also and Swype runs great on it:)
     
  22. Zinja

    Zinja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Swype hasn't built in a speach to text option, but Handcent SMS has. I usually speak text into a text message, then hold down the dialogue box, copy all, and paste the textin my gmail app/native email/facebook/whatever you may be using.

    If anyone has a more efficient way, I'm all ears.
     
  23. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yep, same thing here. It'll let you register, but you still won't have access. Despite registering successfully, it declines to recognize your e-mail for login. They really should just tell you "Your account is registered but access is denied until the beta resumes. Thank you.", instead of saying "The email address and password is either incorrect or not in our system"--which is misleading. I guess you have to wait until the beta program resumes...
     

Share This Page

Loading...