Swype beta link said my EVO not an android phone?


Last Updated:

  1. Devildog83

    Devildog83 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I registered at swype.com, got the email, clicked on the link and got:

    Sorry! This is not an Android phone.

    Help/Thoughts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. supaumar

    supaumar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    24
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaa
     
  3. Devildog83

    Devildog83 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks...
     
  4. Shadowsnake

    Shadowsnake Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    Change the browser user agent...
     
    bobomatic likes this.
  5. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
  6. archie70

    archie70 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    uhh.....make sure you're using your EVO's browser when clicking on Swype's link...not on your computer.
     
  7. vkdroid

    vkdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    16
    It's in the FAQ - make sure your browser is set to view webpages as Mobile
     
  8. SprintFun

    SprintFun VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    While in the browser, click menu, more, settings, check the box for mobile view. Or uncheck for desktop...one of those two...
     
  9. Alberto_jr

    Alberto_jr Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Love this site. Had the same issu did a search and there it was
     
  10. VGPOP

    VGPOP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    64
    This is literally the best freaking keyboard. I can type things so fast and ACCURATE.

    I love it!
     
  11. Bat~man

    Bat~man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    29
    I just got swype on my hero and i love it

    Got my EVO today but the website is "having issues" activating it =\

    Swype says its beta, what exactly does that mean? They going to take it away from us after "beta"?
     
  12. Bluze

    Bluze New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    EVO with new 2.2 update:
    Ive tried both browsers (built in and dolphin)in both views and still getting the Sorry message. :(
    Any other ideas.
    Also deleted all installers, the app, rebooted and cleared cache in both browsers.
     
  13. frankiepapa

    frankiepapa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks to everyone on this thread for the help.....for some reason Swype doesn't recognize the Dolphin browser (or perhaps any other 3rd party browser) so you need to use the stock browser....it was so frustrating seeing the message that Swype does not recognize your phone to be android and I found out that their customer service is terrible as i still have not even received a response from sending them an e-mail!!
     
  14. NiCK Crush

    NiCK Crush Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    20
    seems like my Swype beta has expired? Won't let me complete words. ??
     
  15. Joppie

    Joppie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    37
    I don't think "beta" means much to the Swype devs. Swype is currently shipping standard with Droid X and all Galaxy S models. But then again, Motorola and Samsung have paid for a license to use the app. Maybe they'll expect a little $$$ from the rest of us?
     

Share This Page

Loading...