swype betaSupport


Last Updated:

  1. jessejlt

    jessejlt Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    The swype beta installation instructions note that you must uninstall all previous versions of swype before installing the beta. Since the Droid X comes with a pre-installed version of swype, does this mean that we (Droid X users) cannot install the swype beta, or is there some other workaround?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Dtatch

    Dtatch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    25
    I don't really understand why you would want to if you already have it. Plus there is no version besides the one that is preloaded that will work as well as the one you already have, if at all. The beta will also eventually close rendering the beta versions useless.
     
  3. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    225
    Yeah, what's wrong with using the preinstalled Swype? It's already on there, don't make life difficult for yourself!
     
  4. mchung53

    mchung53 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    20
    from androidcentral.com:

    So that there's no confusion: If Swype came pre-installed on your phone, stay away from this update. If you registered for the beta on Swype's website, and that's where you initially got Swype, you're good to go.
     
  5. darkcyber

    darkcyber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    151
    How do you access the preinstalled one? I have looked and I don't see it. Do you have to turn it on somewhere or something?
     
  6. DroidEye22

    DroidEye22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    14
    Simple Step
    1. Root
    2. Buy Root Explorer or Android Mate its free but its crap
    3. Go Back folders 1 time and go to the APPS folder
    4. On the top press R/W
    5. Find Swype.Apk and delete it
    6. Put the beta ( your ******ed if your doing this) in your SD Card and download it.
    7. Good Day To You.
     
  7. Clittzen

    Clittzen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    42
    Just hard press for like 2 seconds in a message box or internet typing box, press input method, and swype will be option.
     
  8. Hrethgir

    Hrethgir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    225
    Um, what? Thank you for making us all dumber.


    This.
     
    ericnail likes this.
  9. darkcyber

    darkcyber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    151
    Thanks! To easy! Now just got to figure out how to spell a word with the same double letters in it...i.e. door or floor. Just going to take some practice :D
     
  10. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    60
    make a circle over the letter you want typed twice.

    go thru the tutorial...it explains everything...thats why its called a tutorial ;)
     
  11. Jess8222

    Jess8222 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    picture texting... there is no answer... i cannot send picture texts and i have no idea why. i keep getting the message, "national access coverage not available" i even got another phone sent to me. 3 tech support people didn't know. I am so frustrated! ANY suggestions??? I've turned on and off and reset everything possible unless there's another combination of things that need to be on and/or off. about to go crazy lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...