Swype for Incredible w/ Voice to textSupport


Last Updated:

  1. gbenj

    gbenj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    35
    I noticed that the version of swype that we should be able to use for our incredibles it might not be possible to use voice to text.

    Does anyone know if theres a way to add the functionality to a swype keyboard that we install.

    I dont have the phone yet, so cant test anything, but would appreciate some input from those who have them already, or anyone else in the know.

    From what I can discern, would it be possible to follow the steps listed here: Add Full Voice to Text To HTC Phones Nimbu

    to add the functionality to the swype keyboard thats we can install?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
  3. kevinbakon

    kevinbakon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    63
    I was just about to post a thread asking if anyone with the Incredible has tested Swype.
    The problem is (like the link above) most versions of Swype available are Beta and/or expired.
    Below is the link for the version of Swype that I installed on my Droid about a week ago. IMO, it is hands down the best app available for Android. I use it permanently for all my text input needs. I have sent it to 3 Droid owners, the latest this Friday, so I know it still works.

    So the question of the day is . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Does Swype work on the HTC Incredible???????
    Here's the link for the file:
    www.mediafire.com/?omkzmr0dxo2
    Access this link directly from your phone's browser and download to your phone.
    Here's the link for the settings/instructions:
    Download Swype for Android Beta | Android Central

    (A reboot may be required)

    Incredible owners, please let us know!!!
     
  4. MaxxVE

    MaxxVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    Although it wouldn't be a deal breaker, I would be really disappointed if we couldn't get swype on our incredibles.
     
  5. kevinbakon

    kevinbakon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    63
    Agreed, not a deal breaker, but I think it's simply a matter of time before it's available for all Android phones . . . . I just remember reading somewhere that it requires a certain screen type. I also remember reading that it doesn't work on the Eris or N1 . . . . I guess if no one chimes in, I'll find out for myself on Thursday.
     
  6. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    Swype works just fine on the eris. I'm using right now



    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  7. MaxxVE

    MaxxVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    3
    I do have swype working on my ERis.. I'm eligible for my upgrade now but I'll probably wait to see what people find out.

    ^^Dang... beat me to it ^^
     
  8. Zabii

    Zabii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
  9. gbenj

    gbenj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    35
    The question really isnt whether or not swype will work on our incredibles, im reasonably sure it will.

    I posted to find out about the possibility of still doing voice to text within the swype keyboard. The swype keyboard we can use might not have that functionality built in, but might require some kind of remapping.

    Anyone have any idea what im talking about?
     
  10. Zabii

    Zabii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Eh I am more worried about whether or not the program works, as I have gotten used to it on my Omnia.
     
  11. rsjet

    rsjet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    11
  12. disciplined

    disciplined Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    8
    i also have it working 100% normally on my incredible (previously had it on my omnia). I used the file from the XDA thread.

    I also wish it had text to speech. All it needs is an extra button to call up this function. Maybe the full version will have it once it's in OEM phones.
     
  13. jmwood

    jmwood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    12
  14. b00sted4fun

    b00sted4fun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    25
  15. simong79

    simong79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
  16. charklos

    charklos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hey, just so you guys know if you use Handcent SMS with Swype, then you have the Speech to Text feature. Just hit Menu when you're composing a text and then hit Speak. :cool::cool:
     
    FramCire likes this.
  17. gbenj

    gbenj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    35
    I'd love to see someone whos able to figure out how to remap the "tips and tutorials" key in the bottom left to the voice to text function.

    I dont know how VTT is integrated into the OS or locked to the stock keyboard, but could that work?
     
  18. XDaydreamerX11

    XDaydreamerX11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    10
    Would ALSO like VTT button on swype. I would say this app MADE texting for me on a touch screen. I would have given the Inc back because with my long nails IT DID NOT register like they said it would. (said gloves, and fingernails ok, which they are NOT.)

    If anyone finds a copy that works with the button please link :)
     
  19. wonderbread

    wonderbread Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    297
    You will all be happy to hear that an admin on the Swype official forum has given this response to the VTT button feature,
    Voice input button
     
    XDaydreamerX11 likes this.
  20. shaffe43

    shaffe43 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    So the answer to this is no. At least for now then.

    Please correct me if i am wrong.

    Thanks!
     
  21. Randino

    Randino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    110
    Download the app Handcent SMS, IMO it is a better messaging program, also it works with the swype keyboard and if you hit the menu button there will be an option to speak...tap that and vwallla....voice to text.

    basically use a combo of swype and handcent and your problem is solved.
     
  22. MooN

    MooN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    7
    Handcent+Swype here. Voice to text works fine.

    However, there is no voice to text option when using Swype and Google Talk. Have to toggle to stock keyboard for it.
     
  23. MisterMixelpix

    MisterMixelpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    153
    Try out ShapeWriter. Same idea but it works a lot more smoothly for me.
     
  24. shaffe43

    shaffe43 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome handcent is sweet, i love it. that is going to be my new texting client.

    thanks
     
  25. inittowinit

    inittowinit Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    10

Share This Page

Loading...