Swype for Nexus One. Installed but Doesn't Select


Last Updated:

  1. Nexoid

    Nexoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0

    Advertisement
  2. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    If you get the keyboard up and long press on ?123 you can pick the input method.
     
  3. rynowhi

    rynowhi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. When I long press ?123 I get the option to change input method, but only android keyboard shows up.
     
  4. Nexoid

    Nexoid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh My. I feel pretty stupid lol. Yeah just needed to long press ?123 and select it as my keyboard. Works everywhere now thanks
     
  5. rynowhi

    rynowhi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ha, I had uninstalled it. Works fine, thanks for the help.
     
  6. lestat897

    lestat897 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Where did you get Swype for the Nexus One? Did you need to root your phone to get it?
     
  7. rynowhi

    rynowhi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. lestat897

    lestat897 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks. But how did you get it towrk on the Nexus? I just installed it and it says it's not able to work with my display???
     
  9. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    It works fine after that message
     
  10. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    doesn't get on with landscape mode though
     
  11. lestat897

    lestat897 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK. I got it working but only in portrait mode. Maybe I'm missing something. But when I rotate the phone to landscape, it opens a big window the size of the screen to type but doesn't show a keyboard. Any help?
     
  12. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Nope that's just how it is at the moment, guess that's what you get for trying pre-release software from a different handset.
     
  13. lestat897

    lestat897 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK. Thanks so much for your help.
     
  14. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    installed it on my nexus....works nicely in portrait mode.

    Not sure if I could use it all the time though. Think it has made my typing speed a bit quicker though.
     
  15. RedMist

    RedMist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'll buy this when it's released, it's awesome!

    But I uninstalled it. I can't deal with that error message all the tome :)
     
  16. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Just checked out Swype's website.....their business model is to sell the software to OEM's where it is integrated into the OS.

    Personally, I think they are a bit mad as they would make money by selling the app on the Market/s. Would love to pay for an official version of it on my N1.

    We could be waiting a while....... :(
     
  17. Nazar

    Nazar New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice!!!!
    Thank you guys!
     

Share This Page

Loading...