Swype for rooters?


Last Updated:

  1. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Has anyone here that downloaded the official Swype Beta Trial had problems when switching roms?

    I just flashed a new rom, restored my apps, and Swype is telling me it's registered to another device.... :confused::confused: Wont work!!!!

    I'm wondering if I should just download the versions that are floating around out there instead of having an "official" version... :(
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,680
    Likes Received:
    22,038
    Cableguynoe, try doing a re-install. I had to install twice for some silly reason. Worked the second time around. I wasn't flashing a new ROM, but I got the same "registered to another device" message. Works fine now.

    Cheers!
     
  3. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Thanks, that did work for me.
    But I'm wondering if I'm going to have to do this every time I switch roms?
     
  4. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    I've been having this problem as well. In fact I was just going to start a thread about it until I saw this. Same "Swype is registered to a different device BS." Lately I have only made it a few days without uninstall/reinstalling swype. I can't yet pinpoint what triggers it because it has done it to me even when I'm not switch ROMS frequently.

    EDIT: What makes it worse is that the words you added to the dictionary get deleted each time you reinstall!
     
  5. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Using the official beta, you have to re-download and install every time you switch ROMs. It's because of the way the Swype Installer works: It creates a license file based on a bunch of info about your phone and software. When that info changes, the license is no longer valid.

    Do yourself a favor and use a hacked version instead. I can't tell you where to get it, but Google might be able to tell you where to get "hacked swype hvga" instead.
     
  6. cableguynoe

    cableguynoe Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,030
    Likes Received:
    264
    Yup... that's the part I hate. I have all my user names and passwords added to make my life easy... along with a ton of other words, names, etc.
    So it sucks having to start all over again.
    I never even downloaded any of the themed swypes that were available before the swyp expiration justfor that reason. Did not want to start over.

    Thanks Nestor... I think I'll do that.
     
  7. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks for the advice. I'll opt for that instead of installing the damn beta each time I switch ROMS
     

Share This Page

Loading...