Swype GrypeSupport


Last Updated:

  1. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    200
    One, I really, really like Swype. BUT I wish they'd update the portrait keyboard and move the microphone away from the period. I bet I hit that in one out of every 4 texts. What a PIA!
    Come to swype in landscape just to avoid that.

    That is about my only gripe with Swype.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bigshotproducer

    bigshotproducer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    25
    I feel the same way. I am always hitting the microphone. Very frustrating.
     
  3. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    Yeah, the mic near the period isn't good.
     
  4. Nightwind Hawk

    Nightwind Hawk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    15
    100% agree... but I also have to ask, did you purposely rhyme the title? :p
     
  5. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    200
    A poet and don't know it...
     
  6. sparky07

    sparky07 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree completely. Move the damn speaker!!!
     
  7. foo

    foo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    105
    ya +1. i hit it pretty often too
     
  8. Riverman

    Riverman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    17
    I can't say that I've ever accidentally hit the microphone button, and I'm not all that accurate. Do you guys tap the period key, or do you swype from the period to the space? I always swype from the period to the space key.
     
    swtex likes this.
  9. Pocalypse

    Pocalypse Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just as Riverman said, you should be swiping from the period to the spacebar. That way, even if you hit the mic it'll recognize it as a period.
     
  10. Chingon_ed

    Chingon_ed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ha ha, have you ever thought of consulting for Apple? "You're holding it wrong." - Steve Jobs
     
  11. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Same thing here. Never get the mic to come up on accident and I swype from the period to the space.

    Everyone should watch the swype tutorial videos at least once if you haven't before.
     
  12. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    200
    Sounds like an i Phone owner. Well gees we sure are sorry for not being perfect.
     
  13. ricksievers

    ricksievers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    20
    I use swype all the time and have never hit the mic key. I dont have small fingers either.
     
  14. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    Swype has been removed from my desire due to annoyingly having to rest "input method" everytime i turn the desire off.
    it's so annoying
     
  15. yawdapaah

    yawdapaah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    288
    Anyone get the new swype beta to work? It's force closing on my Fission'd DX
     
  16. mruno

    mruno Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    180
    same problem here
     
  17. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    No, I have a Droid X.

    I was just trying to be helpful, I learned alot watching those videos.
     
  18. mpeg3s

    mpeg3s Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't like the new Android Swype 2.6.

    No:

    1. Mic
    2. Arrow Keys
     
  19. swtex

    swtex Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the period-to-space bar Swype tip.. However, it's giving me two periods sometimes. What I'd like to know is how to disable the pop-up tutorials. I have checked the settings and they should be turned off, but the one for "hidden words" keeps popping up. When I'm in a hurry, I don't care about making any editorial changes. Just let me Swype the message and keep the tutorials quiet.
     
  20. mpeg3s

    mpeg3s Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the new Swype V2.10 with Mic.

    Now it just needs some arrows. Otherwise, editing is a pain!
     
  21. tdse

    tdse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    16
    Is this only an issue with the beta version? I'm using the version that was pre-installed on the X (I think it's 1.6), and if you swype from the swype key to the symbol key, you get a screen with several options including arrow keys.
     
  22. swtex

    swtex Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone else get "rfd" instead of "the"? I have tried highlighting and deleting "rfd", but it keeps coming back. I never use those initials and don't know how they ended up in my dictionary. Having to correct the word "the" really slows down Swyping. Pre-programmed keys for frequently used words like "the" and "and" would be helpful.
     
  23. bbuck002

    bbuck002 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    60
    i was really happy with swype until they updated the preloaded version and now i get all kinds of wrong words when i didn't before...

    also, i thought if you had the preloaded version, you weren't supposed to download the beta updates, i didn't think they worked together?? anyone have clarification on this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...