Swype: hide keyboard


Last Updated:

  1. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi all,
    I'm using the Desire, and I've just discovered Swype, which I love!
    Except for ONE little thing....
    How the hell do ya get the keyboard to disappear so you can hit the 'send' or 'save' button which is lurking below it?
    With the default keyboard, you have a button dedicated to hiding the keyboard, but Swype doesn't appear to have one of those.
    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. bonerp

    bonerp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    135
    I cannot find swype on the market. I am using slideit
     
  3. toadstools

    toadstools Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey bruce...glad you're liking swype, you'll kick yourself Like I did as I was getting frustrated with that...just press your back button on your hard keys!..jobs a good' un ;)
     
    DangerousSnails and audio2u like this.
  4. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks Toadstools!!
    Yeah, I asked a mate of mine and he just replied with an sms about 20mins ago!
    Told me the same thing!
    D'oh!
     
  5. toadstools

    toadstools Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    you're welcome Bruce..I was always trying to scroll the page up and just assumed I'd lose or come out of what I was doing by going 'back'!
    I see you're in Oz using the desire..hows Sydney today?! :eek:)
     
  6. toadstools

    toadstools Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    you're welcome Bruce..I was always trying to scroll the page up and just assumed I'd lose or come out of what I was doing by going 'back'!
    I see you're in Oz using the desire..hows Sydney today?! :eek:)
     
  7. toadstools

    toadstools Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oops..sent twice!
     
  8. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nice! Low twenties celsius, sunny.
     
  9. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, it WAS! It's night time now!
     
  10. toadstools

    toadstools Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    very nice too..and got a desire..happy days!! :~)
     
  11. jcrompton

    jcrompton New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    Can you tell me which version of Swype youare using? I tried to install the full version of Swype and got an error - "unable to install , wrong screen resolution on the device ...."

    Thanks
     
  12. JimmyT85

    JimmyT85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can anyone point to where I can get Swype from?

    Thanks
     
  13. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
  14. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, I get that too, but it still runs ok.
    However, I'm just downloading the version that OFI just linked to, to see if that works any better.
     
  15. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    OFI, you da man!
    That version runs beautifully without the 'screen resolution' error.
    Schweeet!
     
  16. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    :0 yup i'm using that version myself Although i've turned it off for now because of the pinch/zoom issues. Although I think I heard it clears it if you reboot.. will have to try :D

    What I would like is a modified HTC keyboard.

    Considering the Desire isn't even released in the US I find it quite odd that it has a $ bias over the
     
  17. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    yeah, I've noticed the pinch/zoom thing seems to be a bit hit and miss.... although I should say, that was with the version of swype I was running yesterday.
    now, that I've updated tot he version you linked to, I've not noticed the problem. will be watching, though!
     
  18. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    mmm, nah, i stand corrected... pinch/zoom IS still buggy on this new version.
    bugger.
    hope the swype guys can sort that out, 'cause i really like swype as an app, but i also really like the pinch/zoom feature... it's critical for web browsing.
     
  19. OFI

    OFI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    53
    Unfortunately I think it's an issue with Sense, so i'm not sure they will find a workaround (especially as all keyboards are doing it)

    Fingers crossed.
     
  20. dgoulston

    dgoulston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    10
    could someone please email me that version of swipe in this post, as I can't access rapidshare

    Thanks
    Darren
    dal1983@gmail.com
     
  21. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use shape writer. Never used swype, but I've heard it's pretty much the same. Pinch zoom stopped working, until I tried the usual turn it off and turn it on again.
     
  22. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's on its way to ya Darren.

    OFI, I'm not sure that it IS actually Sense that's at fault. Happy to be corrected, but I never had any issues at all with pinch/zoom prior to installing Swype.
     
    dgoulston likes this.
  23. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Turned WHAT off and on again? The phone, swype or shapewriter?
     
  24. carperkm

    carperkm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    The phone.
     
  25. audio2u

    audio2u Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    right.
    right royal pita to have to reboot the phone everytime you want to pinch/zoom though!!
    i'm thinking of trying shapewriter instead. a mate of mine is using it and swears by it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...