Swype - Menu you didn't seeTips


Last Updated:

  1. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    BUMPING THIS NOW THAT EVO HAS SWYPE AS STOCK KEYBOARD OPTION.

    Hey -anyone using swype, you may not realize but there is a special menu, which you won't find if you're not looking for it or have not watched the video tutorials at Swype | Text Input for Screens

    The special menu includes arrows, copy all, delete select and many more helpful keys. Access it by swyping from the Swype Key (Bottom Left) to the "SYM" key right next to it. To get back to regular keyboard, just press the ABC key.

    Oh, while you're on the abc (default view) keyboard, swype from SYM key to 5/F key, nice little numeric layout for you.:)
     

    Advertisement
    Boba Fett, fullcity, mecampo and 48 others like this.
  2. (Q'.')-o

    (Q'.')-o Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't get it. This is with the EVO?
     
  3. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Yes.

    O.K. So open a blank text, touch the blank and your Swype keyboard will open.

    Your default view is the standard ABC keyboard for Swype.

    Now locate the bottom-left most on-screen key, It has a little "i" in a circle, a hand and a line, all on the one button. Now trace from that key to the one right next to it on the right, the SYM key.

    You should now see your keyboard change to the Editing keyboard.
     
  4. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    That's if he HAS swype.
     
  5. neoshi

    neoshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    53
    Yep this mode is really useful for targeting specific characters you want to change.

    Also has tab :)
     
  6. imarketu

    imarketu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking for something like this!

    Great post!

    Side note: If you are on the widescreen keyboard, Swype from the Swype button to the 5/F key and the numeric layout appears.
     
  7. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Yeah, pwnst*r I posted in my OP first sentence "for anyone using swype" so that goes without mentioning.

    @imarketu: Yes the numeric keyboard works in either landscape or portrait
     
  8. Droidone

    Droidone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    118
    I have tried swype and although its pretty good. I just don't understand the placement of the space bar and don't understand why there is no xt9 for regular typing. The menu is nice but why is it a hidden feature. Doesn't make sense to me. There should just be a button that opens it up.
     
  9. alansauce

    alansauce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    7
    that is super handy. the only thing i wish swipe had is a button for voice
     
  10. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    I agree, I wasn't aware of this until earlier this week when I visited the swype website and decided to watch ALL of the how to vids.

    I like the keyboard lay out, you can swype or use it as a regular keyboard with ease. I think we'll probably see lots of changes in the next 2-6 months, the swype keyboard is going to start launching with phones as OE software and I hope that means we can look forward to lots of forward-thinking improvements.

    I changed my settings all the way to Speed over accuracy and do my spell check at the end now. I am becoming amazingly fast.
     
  11. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    I really missed that function for texting. But if you use Handcent, just hit the Evo Menu button while in a text and it will prompt voice to text. Best of both worlds.
     
    alansauce likes this.
  12. QuickDraw

    QuickDraw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    29


    Where exactly does one get SWYPE? I've looked everywhere for it on the "Market".
     
  13. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    It's not on the market, still not ready for public release.

    PM me.
     
  14. NicksGarage

    NicksGarage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    96
    They say it's coming.
     
  15. kingtheproducer

    kingtheproducer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    WOW! Thank you sooo much! I loved Swype when i had the MyTouch. It just sucked that i didn't know there were arrows, not much use for those on the MyTouch with the trackball. I went to the official Swype website and downloaded it there. Go to, http://beta.swype.com/ and register.
     
  16. doriansoto

    doriansoto Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Awesome. Thanks!
     
  17. Caloy

    Caloy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,871
    Likes Received:
    200
    I'll give you a thanks once I get back home. I didn't realize you can do that. Good post mate.



    Sent using my HTC Evo 4G.
     
  18. ExtraCrispy

    ExtraCrispy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    24
    Swype build for the Droid X has a speaker button. I've been trying to find a working version of that one for the Evo but no luck so far.
     
  19. Khaelum

    Khaelum Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    These two "hidden" menus are great and I'm glad others are discovering them. I also found out about them from the tutorial videos and I've previously posted about them in reply to folks having swype problems.

    Sent from my HTC Evo using Tapatalk + Swype
     
  20. icebergslim3000

    icebergslim3000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    24
    There's a voice button right next to the url when bringing up the keyboard. I dont use the voice search often so I'm not sure if this is the specific button you're talking about.
     
  21. edriggers

    edriggers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    82
    Whoa! I now love Swype that much more.
     
  22. Slylust

    Slylust Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have never been able to get the correction window to come up at the end when i double tap any reason for this?
     
  23. Buzzwyzr

    Buzzwyzr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    Excellent tips! Thanks a whole heckuva lot!
     
  24. BigHAZE

    BigHAZE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    55
    My swype quit working today. Did the beta expire or something? I can use it as a keyboard, but the drag function quit working. I think I saw a warning screen popup, but blew right past it.

    Ideas?

    TIA
     
  25. VGPOP

    VGPOP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    64
    Thanks.

    I found it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...